I’m not obsessed with vampires, really…

My husband and children think I’m obsessed with vampires. It’s true that over the past year I have read some books about the undead but since I read voraciously, going through a large number of books in a twelve month period, I hardly think that reading one or two (or 15) books dealing with vampires constitutes obsessive behavior. Let’s be honest, though, vampires have become a lot more interesting lately. We’re no longer talking Bela Lugosi or even Gary Oldman type vampires. We’re talking more GQ vampires.

It all started with the “Twilight” series. The young girls at the school I work in began drooling over Edward Cullen and the Twilight books and since I have a tween daughter who might soon be interested as well, I thought I should see what all the fuss was about. The first book led to the second and I was hooked. The movies I could live without, but the books, couldn’t put them down. After that a fellow bookworm suggested the Ann Rice vampire series and I tried, but they just didn’t do it for me. So I kept searching for another “undead high”. My nephew, who is also into the weird and unusual (book-wise, at least) kept telling me about a series of books the HBO show “True Blood” was based on. Enter Charlaine Harris and the Sookie Stackhouse books. I read all ten in the series during summer break. A couple I read more than once. What can I say….Eric Northman is one hot vampire. Don’t take my word for it, buy the book.

Lately, I’ve become hooked on a new SYFY channel series called “Being Human”. The main character is (you guessed it) a vampire. To be fair, he shares a house with a werewolf and a ghost so there is a little diversity here. My family has learned not to talk to me or walk through the room when it’s on. This has probably fueled that whole “obsessive” thing. “What’s the appeal?” they ask and I’ve thought about it, really. Maybe it’s just that the whole subject matter is so far removed from my everyday life (I mean I really don’t want to read a book about a fortysomething wife and mother living in the suburbs-I could write that book, but after all, who would want to read it?) Vampires, werewolves, wizards, elves and hobbits. Now that stretches the imagination. That entertains and helps us see beyond our world and into the unknown. That’s entertainment. And that’s what I want to experience every time I open the pages of a book. I’m sure I’ll move on to other topics soon. Untill then, anyone have any recommendations?

4 responses to “I’m not obsessed with vampires, really…

  1. Oops! My mistake! Sometimes things get lost between my head and my finger tips! šŸ˜Š

  2. Oh, not Vampire Diaries (those aren’t that great), Vampire Academy! I always write such lengthy comments, so it’s understandable that that happened. Plus, Vampire Diaries was that huge CW show, I think. My friends really liked it when we were in high school. And thanks for the recommendation, I’ll check it out. I love all things paranormal to be honest. šŸ™‚

  3. Looking at a blogger’s first post is one of the many strange tendencies I possess. And I was pleasantly surprised to find that yours is about vampires! What brought me into the young adult world in terms of books was Twilight, which I read as a preteen. I do admit, sheepishly, that I don’t love it as much as I did when I was younger but I’m not at all a Twilight hater. I haven’t read any of the famous Anne Rice’s work nor The Sookie Stackhouse series. If you want to enjoy a fun young adult vampire series, I’d suggest Vampire Academy if you haven’t already read it. For some readers it takes a while to get into and, admittedly, the first book wasn’t that well done but the series does get better. It’s my absolute favorite ya vampire series! šŸ™‚

    • I think it’s a great idea to see where people started blog-wise. As you can tell by the date, I took quite a break before I started blogging again. I do still, however, love vampire stories and I actually feel the same way about Twilight too (I do like the books a LOT better than the movies, though). Thanks for the tip about the Vampire Diaries books. I will check them out. In return, I would suggest you check out the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs. Mercy isn’t a vampire but she knows a few and she’s pretty cool herself!

What's on your mind?

