B is for Books

This was an easy one. All I had to do was look around me. There are books in every room of my house and yes, that includes the bathroom! But as I look at the covers and titles of these book, I realize how much of my adult history can be told through them.

In my early twenties, on a quest for independents and enlightenment I decided to read my way through the classics. On a table in my hall between  the bookends my mom made are copies of  The Great Gatsby, Sun Also Rises, To Kill a Mockingbird and on my shelves is The Complete Works of William Shakespere  (which, I’ll admit, I never actually read but it has come in handy for flattening out posters).image

Later, as a young wife I developed a passion for mystery novels, which are represented by the entire (so far) collection of Sue Grafton’s  Alphabet Series, along with The Cat Who… novels by Lillian Jackson Braun.

On to my thirties when I was in between marriages and a working woman thirsting for new adventures. Here on this shelf sits Michael Crichton and John Grisham. I confess, I have read Jurassic Park and The Firm more times than I can count.

Next, I met the love of my life, bought a house and started a family. This began my love of science fiction and fantasy novels (I could say it was because my life had become like a fairy tale but that would be really corny). One shelf in my living room is dedicated to The Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia. Later on they were joined by books about witches and vampires by authors like Charlaine Harris and Patricia Briggs.

On came the children! With them came all the classic children’s books of course, but when they grew old enough for us to read novels together we began with Harry Potter and continued through Percy Jackson. Personally, I really enjoy YA books and on my shelves now are novels like  Inkheart,  The Hunger Games, and Perks of Being a Wallflower. 

imageNow I am at the beginning of my fifties and my choice in books has become very eclectic. I might go back and reread a classic or pick up a mystery. The last book I finished was called Bless the Bride and was a paperback I had picked up for my mom who passed away in October. She was an avid reader too and I’m sure I got my love of books from her just as my daughter has gotten this from me. I miss being able to talk about what I’m reading with my mom but I’m glad I have so many of her books to remember her by.

So basically, I am the sum of my bookshelves. My history is written (pun intended) right there in front of me. As Thomas Jefferson said “I cannot live without books!”

3 responses to “B is for Books

  1. Hubby and I are currently on our second copy of Jurassic Park after the spine of the first essentially vaporized under the combined power of our frequent readings.

    • Love it! Can’t tell you how many times I’ve read Jurassic Park. Currently I’m rereading Airframe, another of my Michael Crichton favorites. Also loved Timeline. Really sad that he is no longer with us. Thanks for visiting!

  2. Just popping by from the A-Z Challenge. How wonderful to have so many books and interesting how your choices have changed over the years. I have been a book worm since childhood and will read pretty much anything!

What's on your mind?

