E is for Energy

Energy is a weird thing.  If you find you are low on energy, one way to get more is to get up and do do something. It’s like if you pretend you feel energetic, you will be! A self fulfilling prophecy!

Case in point; every afternoon after work, my cup of coffee and ipad call to me.  I grab both, curl up in my chair and veg out. Then at exactly 4:00 this annoying little icon flashes on the screen and reminds me that it’s time to do some yoga. Never mind that I am the one who set this reminder to go off everyday, I still find it very intrusive.

Lucky for me and my lazy butt, I have my own motivational team (aka the family). Hubby heads out for his afternoon walk with a kiss and a wave, causing me to feel more like a slug. Next, Boy Child heads out to baseball/basketball practice. Since he never manages to close the door tight, I need to haul myself up to close it. On my way back I pass Girl Child on her way to do homework who says to me “I’ll sit in the den so you can do your yoga in here.”

Now I’m stuck! I can’t just sit back down no matter how little energy I have. And you know what, if I keep muttering “I think I can, I think I can” pretty soon I really can. Twenty minutes later I’m feeling more motivated and energetic. Amazing how that works!

7 responses to “E is for Energy

  1. I always read things like this, but gosh darn it, I don’t WANT to get up and do something. I should enlist my family to help, too. 🙂 Nice to “meet” you, and I look forward to reading more A to Z posts!

  2. It’s amazing how we are motivated through the actions of others sometimes 🙂 I plan on running x amount of times per week and sometimes its tough but it does feel good afterwards!

  3. Exercise is really the best thing ever. Few things can beat it for motivation, energy, and just generally feeling better. The hard part is always that getting off the couch section, but it sounds like you have a houseful of great motivators 🙂

  4. Funny little ol’ world – I did “energy” for today’s post, as well! You have actually written useful tips, however – mine was a complete embrace of the energy-less life. 😉

    Jessica
    2015 A to Z Blogger
    Visions of Other Worlds

What's on your mind?

