H is for Hindsight

hindsight (noun): recognition of the realities, possibilities, or requirements of a situation, event, decision etc., after its occurrence.

Hmmmm…. that’s a word. Who among us hasn’t thought “If I knew then what I know now…”?

Before I married the Love of My Life 21 years ago, I had a short marriage that I often refer to as “the rehearsal marriage”. We were both young and got married for the wrong reasons. You know the story. Still…

In hindsight, maybe the car accident we had on the way home from the rehearsal dinner was a sign that the marriage was a bad idea.  It was just a fender bender, no one was hurt but still…

In hindsight, perhaps the hurricane that showed up during our honeymoon and closed down Disney World was meant as a sign that the marraige was a disaster waiting to happen, but after spending the night in the airport we made it home okay…

I’m sure there were more things I should have noticed but, in hindsight, that marraige is part of who I am and everything that happened to me just led me to where I am today so why second guess it.

What are your “hindsight moments”?

8 responses to “H is for Hindsight

  1. In hindsight…things haven’t been so bad. Changes, none!

  2. Stephen Tremp

    I wish I didn;t smoke cigarettes when I was younger. Stupidest thing I ever did.

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Co-host
    Twitter: @StephenTremp

  3. So many! This post makes me think of the VH1 show called, appropriately “Hindsight,” where a woman goes back to her younger self in a chance to do things differently. It’s a fantastic show, I highly recommend it, with all kinds of fun 90sness.

  4. I’ve had quite a few. Biggest being I wasn’t ready to continue college after I got my AA, wasn’t focused and depression too bad and didn’t know what I was gonna do, and the biggest mistake was going to a state college and grow my debt for nothing.

What's on your mind?

