K is for Keys,

image

Today, I am contemplating keys. Not piano keys or maps keys. Just regular old (where the #%$! did I put my) keys. Remember getting your first key to something? Suddenly you are a grown-up. You can unlock the world…or the door, whatever.

Giving my children their first house key was a milestone for both of us. To their credit, they have always been Β very responsible. The first car key was much harder! The freedom and responsibility that comes with that one little piece of metal is enormous! It is cool, though, that they can display their personality through their key ring or lanyard. The first thing my son did when he started college was purchase a lanyard with the university emblem on it. My daughter has an Eiffel Tower on her key ring.

Hubby and I both have lots of keys. He has keys to both his parents houses and keys to the file cabinets in his office. I have a key (actually a fob) to the school where I work and keys to all the cars we own. There is also a large assortment of keys cluttering up our junk drawer. I’m no longer sure what any of these keys go to but I can’t seem to bring myself to throw them away.

I do realize that keys are becoming quite archaic. I’ve seen the new “keyless entry” cars with their push button ignition and houses with coded door entries. They’ve even developed smart phone technology that can lock and unlock your whole house with the push of a button! Me, I still like having an actual key. I also prefer books made of paper and butter made with cream. I’m just like that, but I do think we need to be careful about how much we rely on technology.

Case in point: A coworker told me the other day how she had come across this young girl in the mall parking lot who was very distraught. Being a mom, my coworker went over to see if she could help. The girl told her through her tears that she was locked out of her car.

“I think the batteries in the fob are dead, see.” she said and proceeded to point at the car pushing the button on the remote entry. My friend gently took the keys from her and used the actual car key to unlock the door.

Happy ending.

Aside from the fact that they are obviously handy items, every key is like a tiny little time capsules. Each one of them has a story, a piece of someone’s history. Maybe that’s why I’m so reluctant to throw away all those keys in my junk drawer. Imagine the stories that those beautiful old keys that you see in antique stores could tell. Think about how many hands have held them and all the purses and pockets they have visited! Pretty amazing.

14 responses to “K is for Keys,

  1. I didn’t carry my first key until I went away to university. You’re right … it felt like a huge rite of passage … including the key to your first car or your first house.
    Your story about the young girl who was locked out of her car made me laugh because I could relate. We recently put a keyless entry on our front door. We spent far too much time contemplating what we were going to do if we locked the door unintentionally behind us. D’uh … sometimes we just get locked (pun not intended) into one way of thinking πŸ™‚

  2. I recently flushed my keys down an electric super flusher public toilet. Couldn’t even tell you what all the keys were for. Guess that’s one way to clear them out.

  3. I’ve got a collection of old keys. I have no idea what they belong to but I dare not throw any away just in case!

  4. A very thoughtful article about keys. Interesting point about the key fob telling about the personality of the person. When my son worked as a cashier at the grocery store, he said that he could remember the customer’s key rings better than he could remember their faces. (They would hand him their key ring with their customer card on it.)
    And when you figure out a good craft for old keys let me know. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for visiting my blog during the A-Z challenge.

    • I certainly will. My sister-in-law made a great back splash for her kitchen out of old corks she had been saving for years. I see no reason keys can’t be as useful!

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  5. I actually had a random key in a drawer when I moved in, and I couldn’t get rid of it for exactly that reason. And I also enjoyed the mystery of it.

    But I have to say the story of the girl with the key fob made me laugh aloud.

  6. What a wonderful post. Keys with unusual shapes are fascinating to me. I miss the old skeleton keys.

  7. And I thought I was the only one who had a drawer full of keys! I enjoyed reading your article. Thanks for sharing. Carolyn from Pastimes-Passions-Paraphernalia.org

What's on your mind?

