Image

S is for Sketches

There was a time when I sketched everyday but then life took over and my free time was used for other things. Recently, since my children are older and I have more time, I’ve been trying to get back into the habit. I find drawing very relaxing. There is something about the scratch of pencil on paper that calms my mind. In order to keep myself motivated I thought I would share some of my work. I hope you enjoy them.

(Technically these are drawings, not sketches but “d” was a long time ago and I really needed something for “s” so work with me! 😊 )

This was from a photo of my daughter when she was about six.

This was from a photo of my daughter when she was about six.

My son when he was young holding his cousin.

My son when he was young holding his cousin.

image

Another of my daughter. I love the way her velvet dress reflected the light.

image

This was suppose to be Lauren Bacall, but it turned out looking more like a distant cousin!

image

This was from a photo of my mother when she was 10, probably around 1940.

This is me and my husband from one of our wedding photos.

This is me and my husband from one of our wedding photos.

4 responses to “S is for Sketches

  1. You were legitimately on my A to Z list today! Those sketches are absolutely lovely.

  2. What wonderful treasures! I envy your talent. I can’t even draw stick people. 😦

What's on your mind?

