T is for (Being on) Time

IMG_1311

I admit it. I am a card carrying punctualist! Good word, huh? I might have just made it up. I’m not sure. Basically, what I mean is that I am obsessive about being on time. In fact, most of the time I’m early. My Hubby is much the same way so you know our kids didn’t stand a chance. Although I have noticed that my son is on time for everyone except us. He doesn’t seem to care about keeping his family waiting but I guess that’s another post entirely.

When they were little and we were teaching our children to be on time we would explain to them that being late was impolite and disrespectful. We told them that if you made an appointment, you owed it to that person to show up on time. If I’m being honest though, I’d have to say it’s the embarrassment factor that truly motivates me to be on time. Anyone who has ever been late for something knows what I mean. Everyone turns to look at you (because, of course, the door has a major squeak) and you just know they’re thinking thing like…

Well, look who decided to show up.” or

“I guess the schedule was only meant for some of us!”

Eeek! I get sweaty just thinking about it! So as a result I get up two hours before I have to be somewhere, I lay my clothes out the night before and I make sure I have the route mapped out. I know, obsessive.

There are a lot of people who are just the opposite. Shall we call them Unpuntualists?   My own brother was never on time for anything then he moved to Oklahoma where the pace is a lot slower than here in New Jersey. Now he does fine. Hubby has an Aunt and Uncle who show up late for most family pot-luck dinners so we always ask  them to bring a dessert in case they miss the main meal.

Which way is better? I guess each has pros and cons. I’d like to be able to relax some. It would be healthier for sure. You know, stop and smell the roses, live in the moment, not worry so much about being on time, but then I start thinking about the algebra teacher I had in ninth grade. If anyone dared sneak into class after the bell she would stop what she was doing and announce loudly…

So nice of you to show up, Mr/Miss (whoever). I hope we didn’t take you away from something more important!”

Yeah…I think I’ll go get my clothes ready for tomorrow and maybe I’ll check the alarm clock while I’m at it.

So are you a Puncualist or an Unpunctualist?

6 responses to “T is for (Being on) Time

  1. Me too. I’m compulsively on time. You said it perfectly … to be late is disrespectful of other people. On those rare occasions you are late, people are prepared to cut you some slack because they know it’s out of character.

  2. J here, stopping by from the #atozchallenge – where I am part of the A to Z Ambassador Team! (I’m a minion/volunteer under Arlee.)
    Great post. I’m looking forward to more. Let me know if I can help you in any blogging way this month. Congratulations on making it this far! Finish strong. You can do it!
    Don’t forget our after party. The Relections Linky List will open on Monday May 4th. (For links directly to posts, not to general blog addresses.)
    I’ve followed you on WordPress.
    -J @JLenniDorner

    I do try to be on time. The world sometimes conspires against that though.

  3. Sadly, I am an Unpunctualist who has to disguise herself as a Punctualist by setting clocks ahead and jotting meeting times down on the calendar at least a little early.

  4. I’m somewhere in between I think…usually in work at least half an hour early but generally late for most everything else!

What's on your mind?

