V is for Vista View

I’m not much of a camper. I’m more of a soft bed, indoor plumbing kind of a vacationer. My husband, on the other hand has camped since he was little and I mean real camping, like sleeping in a tent on the ground and bathing in an ice cold stream. Now that he’s hit 50 he admits that that kind of camping is behind him but each summer we still visit the same campground he did as a boy. Now we do it in an air conditioned camper that has a bathroom, kitchenette and room to sleep eight. That’s more my kind of camping.

The place we “camp” is called World’s End State Park. It’s in upstate Pennsylvania and is about a four hour drive from our home (although Hubby has claimed to have made it in three once when he was a teenager). It is the most peacefully beautiful place. I’ve posted photos before of the amazing views but I’m going to cheat and use some again. In my opinion, they are well worth a second look…

  

 

These are both taken from an outlook called “Vista View”. In the first, my Hubby, kids and a family friend enjoy the quiet. No matter how many other people are there, the quiet still seems overwhelming. Our ritual each year is to stop at Vista View on our way to dinner in Forksville, the nearest town.

The second photo is a clear view of the Endless Mountains, which is what this section of these Pennsylvania mountains are called. It’s pretty easy to see why!

10 responses to “V is for Vista View

  1. Pingback: Quick, Catch the Summer! It’s Getting Away! | The View from the Porch

  2. Gorgeous pictures and I agree with your style of camping! Much more comfortable!

  3. This looks like a beautiful spot! And I adore the name… so perfect.

  4. Visiting from A/Z 🙂 What a pretty place to go camping! I’m like you, I need a little comforts while camping, hubby tends to be more like your husband. I think I could camp where you guys do especially in a cabin 🙂

    betty

  5. WOW! We don’t have anything at all like that in the UK – the horizon is much nearer! Beautiful. (I’m not a camper either…) ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

  6. Beautiful photos. You and I could camp together. My idea of roughing it involves shared facilities – kitchen and bath, but my cabin will have walls and a bed 🙂
    I am stopping by today from the #atozchallenge – where I am part of the A to Z Ambassador Team! (I’m a minion/volunteer under Lisa.) Congratulations on making it this far! Finish strong. You can do it! and Don’t forget our after party. The Reflections Linky List will open on Monday May 4th. (For links directly to posts, not to general blog addresses.)

What's on your mind?

