X is for Xenodocheionology

Good word, huh? I admit I had to search through a list of “x” words to find something to write about. I never heard this word before but I like what it mean: A love of hotels or inns. I definitely have this. There is nothing like a fancy hotel or a quaint little inn to get my heart racing.

We stayed in motels when I was a kid. After all I live an hour from the Jersey shore-motel capital of the world, but my first real experience with true xenodocheionology (pretty sure I’m using that word incorrectly) was in 1982 at the age of 19 and it was all thanks to my first serious boyfriend and his well-to-do family.

His name was Steve and his dad owned a couple of car dealerships in Philadelphia. We had only been dating for a few months when his parents invited me to vacation with them in New Orleans. Steve’s uncle worked as the purser on a river boat down there and the plan was to stay in the city for a few days and then sail down the Mississippi on the uncle’s paddle boat cruise. I thought about for about a half a second before screaming “HECK YEAH!”

The hotel we stayed in was right on Bourbon Street. I can’t, for the life of me, remember it’s name and I’m not if it was damaged by hurricane Katrina years later, but at the time it was the most elegant place I have ever been. The lobby was floor to ceiling marble with a row of fountains along the center. To the right was an open courtyard that was attached to the hotel’s gourmet restaurant.

Our suite (yes, suite) was on the third floor. It had a seating area with a bar and French doors that led out to the in-ground pool….a POOl on the third floor!?!  Steve’s sister Lori and I shared one of the three bedrooms. The furniture was French provincial and the twin beds had canopies!

The rest of the vacation was amazing too but that hotel was my favorite part. Steve’s favorite part was the fact that it was perfectly legal to walk along Bourbon Street drinking a beer. I guess his priorities were a little different than mine.

I would love to hear about some of your favorite hotels or inns!

6 responses to “X is for Xenodocheionology

  1. Oh my goodness. I didn’t know there was a word for loving hotels. I actually blogged about why I prefer hotels to houses, so this is right up my alley. My favourite hotle is on Lake Atitlan in Guatemala. They have a pool which is side by side the lake and as you swim or hot tub you can watch the fisherman fish in old dug out canoes or admire the volcanoes around the lake. This word is great but who would ever be able to say it out loud???

    • Wow, that hotel sounds amazing! I think I could easily enjoy that. As far as hotel vs house, there is no comparisons! In my opinion, it’s not a vacation if I still have to cook or make beds and if the hotel has a breakfast buffet even better!!

  2. Hats off, I am extremely impressed by your X word. Not only is it a real one, it’s a great one!

    Hmm, I don’t know if i have a favorite hotel memory quite like that one. I did once get a hotel room key, and when I went in there, someone else’s stuff was already in the room. That was kind of creepy.

  3. I’ve never heard that word, but i like it! My two boys have xenodocheinology (sp?). Not only do they love hotels and inns, they have wanted to own their own hotels when they grow up for YEARS. They’re only 10 and 13. We’ll see if their dream ever comes true. 🙂 Fun post!

    • Wouldn’t it be great if they opened a hotel in some exotic location! How much fun you would have whenever you went to visit! Added bonus-They would be cleaning up after you and making your bed!

What's on your mind?

