Pondering My Future Retirement…

This weekend I spent some time with my one sister and her husband.  Discussion turned to the fact that my brother-in-law after 28 years with the U.S Post Office had retired that week. My sister, who is a nurse, had cut her own work days so they were chatting about what they planned to do with all the free time they now had. My other sister and her husband have been retired for over a year as well.  This got hubby and I thinking about what we would do with our retirement.  Not that it will be happening anytime soon (my sisters are over 10 years older than me), but, except for a few years when my children were little, I’ve worked since I was 16 years old. It’s hard for me to imagine not having a job to go to.

Since both sisters have grandchildren, much of their time will be dedicated to spoiling them.  They also intend to do some traveling and spend lots of time at the beach.  My one sis is trying to talk her husband into renting or buying an RV and driving cross country to visit their son in California.  There is a lot of speculation among the rest of us as to whether or not the marriage could survive such a trip! That’s an awful lot of togetherness for any couple but who knows? I’m sure my husband and I will do the same sort of things when we retire but what else would we do to fill our time?

Obviously, we would still want to spend time being of use to society and the world around us so volunteering would be a given.  I would enjoy working with Habitat for Humanity or the ASPCA.  My one sister volunteers once a week at a thrift shop that her church runs.  She finds the sorting and organizing at the store both therapeutic and fulfilling. My husband would probably lean more toward helping young athletes.

I would like to spend more time drawing and painting and exploring other mediums. Then of course there are books I haven’t gotten a chance to read, and films I’ve been wanting to see. There will be more time to spend with the people I love and more time to make new friends. Hmmm, I’m seeing a pattern here.

Basically, retirement to me is just a shift in balance. It would allow me to spend less time doing the things I have to do and more time doing the things I want to do. For now I want to do as much as my free time allows, then in 10 or 15 years I can just expand! Okay, that’s a plan.image

What do you, or will you do with any leisure time you acquire?

5 responses to “Pondering My Future Retirement…

  1. I retired 4 years ago at age 55. Like you, I had worked continuously since the age of 16 and held 2 part time jobs while in university.
    For me, retirement was going to be about doing the things I never had the time or energy to do when I was working. Now I’m busier than I ever was.

    I’ve taken courses, completed renovation projects around the house, hiked the 900 km Bruce Trail … and yes, we still travel in there too.

    Retirement is all about discovering your next chapter.

    • I like that! I’m looking forward to when I start my “next chapter”! Yours sound like a lot of fun!

      • My husband hasn’t retired. Quite frankly, he’s the type of personality that would not handle retirement well.
        I’m lucky that 3 of my friends all retired at the same time I did. I’m not sure I would have nearly as much fun if I was alone all the time 🙂

      • My husband would want to be busy all the time too. Me, I like quiet time!😊

  2. I think about this sometimes and I imagine mine will involve travel, reading, learning a new language and exploring markets (don’t know about the cooking though of items purchased in the markets). Maybe my husband will cook them?!

What's on your mind?

