Grade School the Second Time Around (part 6)

We have moved on to our next science topic “Oceans”! Here is what I rediscovered this week…

  • The Pacific Ocean has more salt than the Atlantic Ocean. Not sure what other differences this makes but one neat fact is that it is easier to float in the Pacific.
  • Fish, such as sharks, tuna and salmon move their tails side to side when they swim but sea mammals such as dolphins and whales move their tails up and down.
  • A shark’s skeleton is made entirely of carterige. That is why it can almost bend in half when it thrashes around.
  • This one is very depressing: Due to the way the currents move, there is an “island” of trash and garbage about the size of The state of Texas floating in the middle of the Pacific Ocean between California and Hawaii. 😞

Something to think about, huh?

4 responses to “Grade School the Second Time Around (part 6)

  1. Very interesting facts! I live in MD and ocearch.org has tagged a great white shark in our area and named it “Mary Lee.” It’s cool to see where she goes around the area, although knowing she is in smaller water bodies scares me. She’s 16 feet and 3,456 pounds. After the movie “Jaws,” there’s no going in water I can’t see through!

    I have nominated you for the Leibster Award! If you have a minute, check out my blog for the information on what to do. Here’s the link http://www.somersethouse.me/?p=1425. Have fun! Joan

    • Yep. That would keep me out of the water too! I live near the Jersey shore and we’ve had some shark sighting too.
      Thanks for stopping by and for nominating me. I will go check out your site to see what it’s all about!

  2. Oh my.. an island of trash the size of Texas! How unbelievably gross. That is one depressing fact 😦

What's on your mind?

