Fallen Oaks

Friday morning started with the sound of, not one, but two power saws 30 feet from my back door. My neighbors had decided that the two huge, possibly hundred year old trees at the end of their drive needed to go. Why they need to go at 8am, I’m not sure. My son is on break from college and values sleep more than oxygen, therefore he was not happy that all this was taking place right outside his bedroom window.

I headed off to work leaving men dangling in the trees, cherishing the comparative quite of the classroom. Of course by the time I was done lunch duty with a roomful of “can’t wait for summer” grade schoolers, I was missing the noise of the power saws! Home for lunch. The trees are half as short as they were that morning and lucky me, the workers were having their lunch too. Silence.

I wasn’t as lucky when I came home from work at three. The men were no longer dangling from the trees but were now using lifts to saw through the trunks one section at a time. The largest trunk was about 5 foot across. By the time they called it a day each tree had been reduced to a six foot stump.

Looking across my yard that evening, I was glad for the peace and quiet but I was sad for the trees. They were beautiful living creatures that were probably just saplings when the house was built 90 some years ago. They stood there guarding it all that time. Now they’re gone just so that the driveway of the house can be widened. Seem like a pretty high price to pay just to make it easier to back out your car.

13 responses to “Fallen Oaks

  1. I’d never heard of such a law. Good for them!

  2. It makes me sad when healthy strong trees are cut down in the name of ‘progress’. In a move to protect its green canopy, Toronto passed a bylaw many years ago that prevents the cutting of trees without a permit – and the permit can be quite expensive depending on the size of the tree. The fine for ignoring the bylaw can be as high as $10,000.

    Sadly, the ice storm of Dec 2013 damaged hundreds and hundreds of trees. People took advantage of the massive cleanup effort to cut down other trees as well. The sound of chainsaws seemed to be a constant reality for months.

  3. 😦 I hate seeing beautiful old trees cut down.

  4. Oh my gosh… how sad. The previous owners would be devastated. When my parents moved out of our family home, the new owners took a saw to all living things in our previous front yard and it became a yard of grass. It was sickening for all of us. I can’t imagine seeing such lovely huge trees cut down for pavement. One word really… gross.

    • You said it! Our homes are so much more than houses!
      This reminded me of an older gentleman who lived in the house behind us. He planted and lovingly tended a dozen rose bushes for his wife who was housebound. They were right outside the patio door so she could look at them and enjoy them all season. They always had the most beautiful blooms!
      After she passed away he sold the house and moved to Florida. The first thing the new owners did was rip out all those beautiful roses and put down pavers! I was so glad he wasn’t still living in town to see it.

      • Oh my goodness. How horrendous! Thank goodness he never saw that. Houses should come with some explanations and maybe others would be less likely to rip the yards apart.

  5. While I enjoyed the humor in your post, the loss of those trees saddened me. Trees don’t just hold beauty. They hold history. It’s a shame not all realize this. When I used to live in the Atlanta, Georgia area, they began development out the backside of our subdivision for a grocery store. That was fine. What wasn’t fine was the removing of several lovely old oaks at that entrance. Sad. Oh well, at least your son can sleep now. πŸ™‚ By the way, I love the name of your Blog page.

    • It is heartbreaking when something that took so long to grow is removed without a second thought. I love that some new housing developments are considering the trees and the landscapes when they place homes. It’s a shame your supermarket didn’t.
      Thanks for stopping by and for the compliment!

  6. It is a shame. The people who live in the house have only been there a year. The previous owners are dear friends of ours who downsized after their children were grown. When I told them about the trees they were devastated! They had always been very careful with the history of the house and the property and saw the trees as part of the history. 😦

  7. Gosh, that seems like such a shame.
    Is that really why? How awful.
    I treasure our trees, many of which as you say, have stood here more than 90 years.
    The lady who sold the house to us told us that the giant maple in the back was planted in memorial to her brother who passed in the 60’s. I think that’s the youngest one. It’s covered in beautiful English Ivy and several squirrels nest there — I think it’s a highly valuable tree for many of us πŸ™‚

  8. I agree, it seems so unnecessary, given that it sounds like they were healthy, and huge, with 5 foot trunks. Some people don’t know the value of certain things.

What's on your mind?

