Whittling Away the Summer Bucket List

Here I am with almost one third of my summer break under my belt so I thought I’d take the time to see how this whole “Bucket List” experiment was working out.

In the past I’ve found that the more time I have the less I seem to accomplish. During the school year I get stuff done because I know I need to seize the moment. In the summer, not so much. After the first week of break when the excitement of being able to sleep in and not worry about ironing clothes or making lunches wears off I tend to start wandering around aimlessly trying to figure out what to do with myself.

This year, though, I’m finding that my list has helped keep me focused. I can always find housework and laundry to do (who can’t, right?), but it also seems wrong not to work on checking an item off my list as well and those things are so much more satisfying!

So far the easiest item is #6 Create one new piece of art per week. My creative side has gone wild!! I recently discovered watercolor pencils and found out how much fun they are to use.

The item I’m having the most trouble with so far is #16 Try one new food per week. I thought it would be fun to experience some new tastes but I lack motivation to go out and find them. I’m not much of a foodie even though I love to eat out (really I just hate to cook)! Does anyone have a suggestion? A unique summer treat?

I’m pretty excited that I managed to check off two items on my challenge (c) list already…

#11- Reconnect with a friend I’ve lost touch with- I had a nice lunch with an old roommate from twenty years ago whom I connected with again via Facebook.

#3- Volunteer for a cause- Miss Dee and I spent our first afternoon today working at a local non-profit thrift shop that helps fund area hospice care. I will write more about our experience in another post.

I Still haven’t driven over that bridge or worked up the courage to go zip-lining . I also need to step up my game on the “day trip” front. We are a week behind but Miss Dee’s birthday is this week and she is making plans! There is a way to go. Still, I’m encouraged 😊

16 responses to “Whittling Away the Summer Bucket List

  1. Oh, and if you go zip lining I definitely want to read about it. I do NOT do heights, so there is no way I would do it, but more power to you!

  2. I think we must be kindred spirits. I, too, hate to cook. Love to eat, but hate to cook! haha As far as how to solve the dilemma of trying one new food a week, pehaps you could change it to “one new drink a week”. 🙂 Doesn’t have to be alcoholic, however, it IS summer, after all. 😉 Good luck!

  3. Sounds as if you are making the most of your summer! I don’t think I’d have to nerve to go zip lining either, but if you do, I look forward to reading about it!

  4. I do not have a summer bucket list but I think it might have come in handy! My son just discovered watercolors (I’m not sure if he knows about the pencils) and has been creating new pieces of art almost every day. It totally jump started his creative side, which I’m very thankful for. (And those adult popsicles sound like the perfect new “food” to try!)

    • Good for your son! I’ve never been very good with regular watercolors but the pencils satisfy my need to sketch things out. Then you use a wet brush to blend and smooth. Hope he gets a chance to give them a try.

      • I’ve been really impressed with some of his paintings. And I will definitely mention the pencils to him and see if he’s interested. 🙂

  5. I have something on my 52 New Things list that you might find interesting to try in your new foods category …. adult popsicles.
    http://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelysanders/boozy-popsicles#.ny98wM2LJ

    In particular, I have my eye on #13 Mudslide Ice Pop.

    It seems like a fun, summertime treat 🙂

What's on your mind?

