Me and My Sad Little Cell Phone

IMG_1543Yesterday, I was three aisles into my weekly grocery shopping trip, when I realized that I had left my list laying on the counter at home. This occurs quite frequently so Miss Dee was not at all surprised when I called home and asked her to read it off to me. I finished my call and looked up to find an elderly gentleman  a few feet away smiling at me. He held up the smart phone in his hand and said,

“You should put your list on your phone. Then you would never forget it. That’s what I do.” I held up my own dinosaur of a phone and told him that I didn’t think mine had that capability. He shook his head frowning.

“Well, I guess it’s time you got yourself a new phone!” He nodded his head and headed off down the aisle.

I was chuckling as I started off in the other direction. My kids are always telling me how technically challenged I am but this was the first time I was showed up by an octogenarian! I hadn’t bothered to tell him that even if my phone did have a list app I would still write one out by hand because I’m a pen and paper kind of girl!

I was also thinking how great it was that this gentleman was so tech savvy. Many seniors are intimidated or scared to death by all the new gadgets out today. My mother stubbornly refused to learn how to use a computer and many of her friends were the same way but here was someone of their generation who had not only embraced technology but used it to his advantage! That’s a guy who knows the secret to staying young. Guess I might need to step up my game!

You know, however that I will not be sharing this story with my children. They would never let me live it down!!

15 responses to “Me and My Sad Little Cell Phone

  1. I too am a reluctant techy…..I made the leap to smart phone last year and I still haven’t caught up with it…..am glad I’m not alone in this!

  2. I write our grocery list on the whiteboard on the fridge. Problem is, I often can’t read my own writing…

  3. True story: I currently have a Post-it stuck to my iPhone with the date and time of an upcoming doctor’s appointment written on it.

    I know there are all kinds of calendars and alarms on my phone that could manage my schedule for me, I just find them way more time-consuming and inefficient than simply writing everything down on a neon pink square of paper and sticking it somewhere highly visible.

  4. I finally upgraded from my turn-of-the-century phone a few months ago and I have to admit I’m really glad I did … however I also acknowledge that I’m not a uber-user.
    It had never occurred to me to put my lists on it!! It would certainly save me from constantly forgetting I have that little piece of paper in my backpocket … only to have it convert into a mushy pulp in the laundry.

    • I always find those old washed lists in the dryer! If I did get a new phone the one thing I would like to have is a map or GPS function. I need a visual to find my way and am a big map user but sometimes big paper maps are not practical.

  5. Just got an i-phone 5S because they don’t carry my 4 anymore. The guy couldn’t believe I didn’t want the 6…I kept telling him I liked my fatter phone..it just felt better in my “old lady” hands..I’m sure he thought I was nuts.

    • I can relate. I need something with a little weight to it too. Also I don’t want to panic every time I drop it on the floor!

      • I really do not like the feel of my thin phone..in fact, I’m on my second case already as I try to make it feel more secure in my hand. My daughter broke her 6 within the first week..😨

  6. I have a smart phone, and I do make lists on it, like things the kids mention they want, or which Malbecs don’t break me out. I still use pen & paper for grocery lists.
    You should consider a new phone. My in-laws still have flip phones. We send them beautiful pictures, and they show up as tiny pixelated blurs 😦

What's on your mind?

