If We Were Having Coffee -10/4/15

image

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that here in the Northeast our weekend has been spent watching Hurricane Joaquin. In my area that just means wind and rain but friends at the shore are dealing with some flooding. They are a pretty hardy crowd down there and are already mopping things up, banking that today’s forcast will be better.

Yesterday we wrapped ourselves in blankets, read books and watched movies. I made a big pot of chicken noodle soup for dinner. This morning the sky’s are looking a little brighter and the rain has stopped for now so come sit down and I will pour you something hot to drink.

If we were having coffee…I would ask you how your week has gone and hope that you have had fewer germs in your home than we have! It started on Monday with Mr D. He made it to class Tuesday but called in sick to work and slept till dinner. I missed work on Wednesday and Miss Dee stayed home on Friday. Hubby wrapped up the week today with a trip to urgent care for some antibiotics. I am hoping by tomorrow, the coughing and sneezing will have subsided and we will all be back to normal. Keep your fingers crossed.

I would share that Fall is upon us and the Halloween flag is flying out front. Today I will pull down the boxes of decorations and fill the house with orange and red and brown. It’s also time to get out my sweaters and scarves and corduroy. Autum and winter are my favorite fashion seasons. Everything is so soft and warm and cozy. Unfortunately, being cozy also tends to makes me lazy! Luckily this is a great time of year for long walks, shuffling through dry leaves, and taking in the many colors of the season.

If we were having coffee…I would refill your cup and suggest we spend the day playing some board games (maybe Clue or Scrabble), have a bowl of soup for lunch and snuggle down in our sweaters for a perfect Autumn Sunday. Thanks for coming by!

This post is part of the Weekend Coffee Share brought to you curtsey of Diana over at Part Time Monster. Stop by and check out some of the other interesting blogs.

17 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee -10/4/15

  1. Sunday’s weather was so dreamy and cool! Next time, let’s do meet up for a mug of soup and Scrabble 🙂

  2. Love these posts…you always seem to have such calming activities and things to look forward to..

  3. I love your “if we were having coffee” posts!

  4. I’d love to stop by, but no coffee, please. Just a nice cuppa tea. Green is good. Or English Breakfast. 🙂 I probably live further north than you on the northeast – yesterday was partly sunny and blustery – a perfect fall day. Went for a long woody walk with my guy, and he roasted a chicken for dinner. Perfect for the cool season approaching.

  5. Scrabble! YAY! I’ll bring Boggle, my other favorite word game. Hope the sun shines this week so we can all get outside for a bit!

  6. Hope you and your family are over the crud soon! I enjoy stopping by for a visit! Clue was a favorite childhood game that I loved. I went and bought a new game last Christmas so I could play it again. I like fall too. We are have a lovely warm fall weekend so I’m finding it hard to stay indoors but have to do my domestic duties… Thanks for the coffee! 🙂

  7. You have my total agreement about loving autumn! Joaquin has really been kicking the stuffing out of some areas. Glad to hear you are largely unaffected. We’ve had a small amount of rain, but lots of wind!

  8. Clue is so much fun! That’s Gene’O’s favorite, and we play it when we get together sometimes.

    Enjoy the decorating—we did that this weekend, too, and it’s nice to look around and see Halloween things. Hope everyone starts feeling better, soon, too!

  9. oh,, I love Clue, my kids and I played that yesterday.
    Hopefully everyone in your family will feel better soon. And Autumn and Winter are my favorite seasons, too. Blessings!

What's on your mind?

