If We Were Having Coffee- 10/25/15

imageWelcome! I’m so glad you could stop by. Coffee is on and we have fresh sticky buns today in honor of Hubby’s birthday. I’m sure he won’t mind if I share some with you. Sit and tell me about your week. Has it been thrilling or exhausting or a little of both?

If we were having coffee…I would tell you about the second grade girl at school who missed a day last week because she was on a magazine photo shoot. She told me all about it. Apparently all the child models went to a park by the water and she got to wear four different outfits and lunch was included. If you met this sweet little thing you wouldn’t be a bit surprised that she does some modeling. Her mom told me they are putting any money she makes away for her college education. It sure seems like she’s having fun with it.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that we were having the family over today for Hubby’s birthday dinner. We’ll be hosting his mom, dad and step-mother, his brother along with his wife and two boys and a close family friend. All together there will be 12 for dinner. I’m planning on lasagna, salad and  crunchy garlic bread, nothing fancy but Hubby loves Italian food. For dessert, we are having a chocolate butterfinger cake purchased from the local bakery…I know what you’re thinking. A good wife would have baked a cake herself, but it’s better this way. Believe me. Baking is not my thing. Eating cake? That I’m pretty good at.

Hubby’s birthday present this year was a smart phone. For years he held on stubbornly to his flip phone then last year he traded up to a slide phone but lately he has been complaining about missing photo opportunities or not being able to find directions when he is on the road. He uses it a lot for work and various committees he sits on so we thought it was time to give him something more versatile. Of course my own phone is a dinosaur so the kids are going to have to help him learn to navigate his new toy. Should be fun to watch. What’s that saying about teaching old dogs new tricks?!

If we were having coffee…I would tell you we’ve decided not to have our Halloween party this year. Usually we have ten or twelve couples over for a costume party the Saturday before. We have food and adult beverages, play some highly competitive party games and usually have a lot of fun but it just wasn’t in the cards this year. Timing was bad for a lot of friends because the 31st actually falls on a Saturday this year. Even my sisters and their spouses who always come will be busy with their grandchildren. Just between you and me, I’m not all that disappointed. It will be fun just hanging out, handing out candy and enjoying all the clever costumes.  This neighborhood is hopping on Halloween. We usually go through about 10 bags of candy. Of course that’s not counting the stuff I eat while I’m waiting for the trick-or-treaters to arrive. 😊

Well, I am sure you have some plans for today and I guess I better go get my house ready for company. Thanks so much for stopping by and don’t forget to visit the other bloggers at the Weekend Coffee Share There is always something interesting going on there!

17 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee- 10/25/15

  1. That was great coffee.

  2. Sounds like a great week! happy birthday to your hubbie!

  3. Tell your husband happy birthday!

  4. Sounds like a great week! Happy Birthday to your husband. Best wishes for an enjoyable day! 🙂

  5. Enjoy your special family day! Cake sounds delish – and oh that sticky roll was yummy!

  6. Hallowe’en has never been something I’ve embraced. I guess I found the whole costume, treat-or-treat thing a bit overwhelming. I’m always a little bit envious when others can really get into it. Too bad your annual party has fallen through – especially since it is a Saturday this year!
    Our neighbourhood is actually very quiet at Hallowe’en. For the past many years, we’ve had only a dozen or so kids. One memorable year we had 7. Seven! I had candy coming out of my ears. I’ve since planned better 😉

    • That sounds like my in-laws. They live in a house surrounded by hedges on a dark road with no sidewalks. The only time they get trick-or-treaters is when someone gets lost and comes across their house accidentally!

      • hahahahaha! No we aren’t quite that bad!!
        It’s more of a case of a neighbourhood in transition from original owners with children grown and gone, to new immigrants mostly with limited english. We are just starting to see the occasional small child again 🙂

  7. Hope your dinner goes well. For some reason when I cooked for Mike and me it turned out great! Throw in company and it sucked..at least that was my opinion. Hope hubby can get the hang of his new phone. Seems like I learn something new on mine every day!

  8. Sounds like a great week in your world! Family, fun, friends, and food! Can’t beat that!

What's on your mind?

