If We Were Having Coffee….11/22/15

 This post is part of the Weekend Coffee Share brought to you courtesy of Diana at Part Time Monster.  Be sure to stop by and check out the other participating blogs!

image

If we were having coffee….you might notice that I am getting a much later start than I do most Sunday mornings. That is because my sinuses decided to attack me first thing this morning and it has taken me this long (hot coffee followed by a long hot shower and a good dose of medicine) to feel human again!  Still, I am so glad you stopped by and I don’t at all mind a chance to chat and enjoy another cup of coffee. So please, tuck in and tell me about your week.  To go with our coffee (or your beverage of choice) we can enjoy some of my husband’s yummy baked goods or some left over birthday cake from my great-nephew’s 1st birthday celebration.

If we were having coffee…you might exclaim,”Oh! That must be the famous “Bubble Guppy themed party you have telling me about during my other Sunday visits!” That would be a correct assumption.  Miss D and I spent a crazy morning yesterday helping my sister and niece get things ready for the arrival of the 30 plus guests.  They did all the really hard work like the cleaning and cooking.  We just swooped in and brought it all together.  The seven children at the party really enjoyed the photo booth cut outs we made and the games were a big hit.  In typical one year old fashion, Squish decided to fall asleep just as the guests were arriving so he missed the beginning of his own party but we woke him in time for cake and gifts so he didn’t seem to mind!

I was very glad that it all worked out and my sister and niece seemed pleased with the results. The men in the family were just glad it was over so the women would stop obsessing over it! I was also very glad to get home! My introverted personality was ready for some peace and quiet.  Poor Hubby was hoping we could go see the new James Bond movie last night but I didn’t think I could handle all the noise and action after such a noisy action packed day!! Maybe next weekend.

If we were having coffee…I might mention that this week marked the one year anniversary of my mother’s passing.  As a result, I’ve spent more time than usual consciously taking note of all the little things in my life that can be traced back to her….saying of hers that now spill naturally from my lips, the way I prepare certain foods and the way I fold sheets, things I’ve taught my children about life and polite behavior.

Yesterday, at the birthday party, I noticed how much my oldest sister is starting to resemble our mom.  Another person even commented on it to me. I could see mom’s shadow in the way she stood,  many of the gestures she made, even her manner of speaking and the things she worries about. Mom’s last years were difficult at times and on days when she was making us particularly crazy, we would taunt each other about how someday we would probably be just like her. Back then it was said with foreboding, but I think now, if I told her how much she reminds me of Mom, she wouldn’t mind.  I know I don’t.

Well, If we were having coffee..I would tell you that I think I have used up my leisure time for this morning and I know you probably have much to accomplish this Sunday as well so I guess we should say our goodbyes.  I would thank you for stopping by and wish you a pleasant week, I hope you will stop by next Sunday so we can share our Thanksgiving experiences. Be well!!

 

 

16 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee….11/22/15

  1. My mother is only Florida-far, and what you wrote resonates with me. I marvel at how much of her is in me, and how much of her is given to my children each day.
    I’ll have some coffee and cake and tell you that I’m so glad school is out and husband is off work this week, as I really need the rest.
    You sound like you could use some rest and pampering yourself! Feel better soon!

    • Thanks! It is amazing the ways our moms pop up when least expected.
      I’m jealous that you are off all week for Thanksgiving. Our schools here are only closed Thursday and Friday. It would be nice to have that extra time to catch up with family. Of course if your family drives you nuts than I guess that would be a bad thing!! Happy Turkey day either way!

  2. Sounds like a lot of activity! As much as I like events and parties, I would need some quiet time, too. So sorry about your mom, but it is nice to remember the good things. Enjoy your Thanksgiving!

  3. It must be the hardest thing ever to deal with the loss of your mother…..it’s my own worst nightmare. I am glad you’re looking now to the things of her that are still with you and I hope your healing will continue and good memories of your time with her will become a mainstay for you again.
    As far as that new James Bond film goes….my husband and I did go to see it this past week. It’s the first one I’ve seen with Daniel Craig and I have to say it got me really wound up. This was definitely not the James Bond I knew……most disappointing…….I don’t think I’m ever going to understand why people feel the need to “fix” things that have been the “gold standard” for eons. Ugh.
    Do hope you have a good week!

  4. I had to smile when you said you had to pass on the movie so you could enjoy some quiet. I do the same thing after being around a lot of people and noise. In fact, I’m doing that now…enjoying quiet time after the crowd leaves.
    I also know what you mean about seeing your mom in yourself and your sister. I think I became my mother the moment I gave birth! All the things I swore I would never say or do to my kids..I did. LOL…and they have done it too to their kids! So maybe we do continue to live on in some ways.

  5. I’m sorry about your mom. *hugs*

    Happy to hear there’s cake, though. That always makes a day a little better. 🙂

  6. That first anniversary after losing a loved one is really hard. I hope that any sad memories you may have are gradually pushed out of the way and overwhelmed by all the good ones.

  7. Glad the party went well. 🙂

What's on your mind?

