Christmas Postathon….Day 1

A favorite Holiday Decorations

image

This little house is a result of this the ceramic phase my mother went through back in the 1980’s. For many years it spent the Christmas season in the living room of the house where I grew up. Then it moved to the condo Mom purchased after dad passed away. Now it has come to live in the home I share with my husband and children.

Over the years, the lid has been broken and glued back together and a few of the little colored “bulbs” have gone missing but I think that is part of its charm. Every December I look forward to  putting it on the table behind our sofa and being reminded of Mom every time I see it.

13 responses to “Christmas Postathon….Day 1

  1. Christmas decorations with long family histories are the best.

  2. BTW, your kitty under the tree reminds me of my Smokey. So cute.

    • That’s Chrissy. Isn’t she funny! She loves to sleep there I think because the tree skirt is a latch hook rug and is very sort. She gets very offended when we actually put the gifts under the tree and there is no more room for her!

  3. I love it! And, you are right, the many repairs and missing pieces add their own stories, and make those pieces even more valuable.

  4. Isn’t it fun how some things can remind us so strongly of the people we love?

  5. That’s a very sweet remembrance of your mom.😊

  6. Pingback: Christmas Postathon – Day 1 | joeyfullystated

  7. Nice. I’m really going to enjoy your stories.

What's on your mind?

