If We Were Having Coffee…12/6/15

image

Β If we were having coffee… I would invite you in, serve you up some French roast and ask you how your week has been? I hope it has been fun and productive and, if you celebrate the holidays, I hope you have found some time to get in the spirit.

As for me, I have been so busy keeping up with the topics for my Christmas Postathon  that I think I will be keeping this one rather short! My little digits are tired of typing! 😊 I also have lots of cleaning and decorating left to do but I think I can hang out for a few minutes.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that Hubby and I went to see the new movie “Creed” last night. Living so close to Philadelphia, we have always been big “Rocky” fans although I admit the the first one was the one I really liked. The others were just so-so. Hubby and Mr D love them all.

This new one, however, is quite good. We really enjoyed it. Sylvester Stallone’s part is appropriate for his age and newcomer Michael B. Jordon was excellent. It was fun to see all the places we recognized or have visited since most of the movie was filmed right in Philly.

If we were having coffee…I would share that Hubby managed to hang the outdoor Christmas lights without incident which is always what I hope for. However, they worked okay for a day but then they kept going out. At first he thought it was the electrical box they were plugged into, then he thought it might be a problem with the extension cord.

Yesterday morning he said he finally found the problem; a split in the wire. He headed outside with some matches and electrical tape and told me he was going to splice the wire. I must have looked a little panicked because he assured me that it was fine and that he had done it before. 😬

I guess he did know what he was doing because the lights are working now but between you and me, I’m going to be shopping for some new strings of lights at the after Christmas sales!

Well, I better get a move on! Thanks so much for stopping by. Enjoy the rest of your day and don’t forget to stop by Part Time MonsterΒ to check out the rest of the Weekend Coffee Share posts!

13 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…12/6/15

  1. What a nice post! Mr. M wants to see Creed, but somehow we just didn’t get around to it. There might have been some foot dragging on my part. πŸ˜‰ And the part about your husband splicing the wire was funny and all too familiar. I’m going to take a look at your Christmas Postathon. Cheers!

  2. If we were having coffee, it would mean I was out of the house. Sweet!

    Yes, please buy new lights. Please. Accidents happen too easily in homes, you know.

    Really enjoying your Christmas posts – such a super idea. πŸ™‚

  3. I was laughing when I read the part about your looking panicked as he talked about wires. I had to read it to The Mister. That’s so us!
    I had a busy week, two household birthdays, hosting and being a guest. I’ve had a lovely, lazy weekend, and it’s just what I needed πŸ™‚

  4. Even if they can’t do it, they try, don’t they? But I”m glad your guy knew what he was doing. πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen Creed yet, though I, too, like seeing sights I recognize. I saw “Life,” about James Dean and the photographer Dennis Stock last night. Not too bad, not too good. I loves me some James Dean. So if Rocky’s not your usual cup of tea, what type of movies do you like?

    Happy week!

    • Hmm. That’s a tough question because I don’t like just one type. I do like action and superhero flicks as long as there is not too much blood and guts. I also enjoy historical fiction. We saw a film with Benedict Cumberbatch called “The Imitation Game” that was based on true events and it was excellent. Then almost any movie with Tom Hanks! (Oh, and I love me some James Dean too! 😊Sad he didn’t get to make more films)
      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Husbands have no fear of such things as electrical cords, shorts and such, or they just fake it and are grateful when their actions work! I’m so glad I don’t hang decorations outside. I’d be that person who leaves them up all year long!

    • Oh, your one of those people, are you?!πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Š And you are right about men and electrical stuff too. I think it’s in the genes.

      • I am! If I was brave enough to climb a ladder two stories once, I doubt I’d ever have the desire to do it again, and recovery from the fall I’d probably take would be long and painful! πŸ™„

  6. I was just in Philly last weekend visiting my brother for Thanksgiving. I don’t know if I will see the Creed or not. The first movie was the only one I really liked. Have a great week!

What's on your mind?

