If We Were Having Coffee…12/26/15

image

If we were having coffeeI would welcome you in and pour you a cup of some of the special dark roast coffe I received for Christmas. We might have to move some boxes off the sofa to make room but then we could sit and enjoy the lights from the tree and you could tell me all about your week. Did you celebrate Christmas yesterday? Was there family and good food? Did Santa bring you anything special? I hope that you were able to spend the day in whatever way makes you happy.

I would fill you in on our Holiday celebration. We dragged Mr D out of bed at 8am and “forced” him to open gifts. He and Miss Dee were more than happy with their haul as was Hubby. Santa brought him a remote control Millenium Falcon from Star Wars which he practiced flying (and crashing) through out the day. For myself, there were lots of books and some new drawing pens so I was a very happy camper! I may have to take an extra week off work just to make my way through all the reading material!

There were 14 guests for dinner which, for us, is a small number compared to other years, but there was much laughter and lots of tasty food so it was a very pleasant day. I enjoyed catching up with my nephew who is visiting from California. He and Mr D made plans to get together later in the week as well. I certainly feel blessed that we have such a close family and are able to enjoy each other’s company.

If we were having coffeeI would tell you that the celebration is still continuing over the weekend. My father-in-law and his wife came by today to exchange gifts and tomorrow we will be going to one of my sister’s home to see their tree and spend some time with her grandchildren. My brother-in-law, like my Hubby is a model train enthusiasts and always creates an amazing platform with houses and moving figures. Plus they have a big dog that Miss Dee loves (even at 17 she still asked for a puppy for Christmas each year)!

If we were having coffee…I would ask how you plan to spend New Year’s Eve? Are you someone who loves big New Year parties? My sister and her husband used to go to Times Square in NYC to watch the ball drop. You couldn’t pay me enough to stand in that crowd! My little introverted self would have a full fledged panic attack squished in there. ๐Ÿ˜Š We ring in the New Year in a very quiet fashion here at home. Hubby’s mom will join us and we will have some snacks and wine and watch the festivities on TV.

However you plan to celebrate, I hope you enjoy the holiday and the week leading up to it! Thanks so much for stopping by and don’t forget to check out Diana’s post over at Part Time Monsterย as well as the otherย Weekend Coffee Shares.

 

35 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…12/26/15

  1. My dad was a big train enthusiast – real and model. I will have to show you some pics of his former set up some time. Sounds like a lovely Christmas.

    • My dad loved them too. He had a whole set up for under the tree. So does my Hubby. He starts setting up in November and actually has two separate platforms: one regular HO and another that is all Eagles houses and trains. There is even a tiny football stadium with players and fans!!

  2. If we were having coffee, I’d tell you we’re not done with our Christmases either, but I’m glad we have spaces in between. I need downtime/blogtime/moments of superior silence, lol! We are guests early tomorrow, and hosts late tomorrow, and then we will be done ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sounds like a lovely Christmas. Have you made any resolutions for the New Year? I am trying to get the house a bit sorted out over the break. We were so busy before Christmas. It was dump and run and the house is complaining.
    I am going to get the book writing project back on the boil in the New Year.
    xx Rowena

    • Well, I had some minor surgery in November that has kept me away from my yoga and exercise routine so my goal for the new year is just to get back on track health wise. Hopefully it won’t be too hard. I could also use some help on my procrastination tendency. My new mantra for the new year should be “Just do it!!!”

      • Nancy, I need to jump on the “just do it” bandwagon as well. I am becoming more conscious of a perfectionist tendency which stops me from getting started at all. That goes totally against how I encourage others to have a go. Doesn’t matter if you make a mistake etc. I have a bit of work to do here. Good luck with getting back into your exercise routine. I need to do likewise. xx Rowena

  4. oh, I am also not a fan of the crowds – and because it is our first and only year living in Las Vegas, I will stay inside – I have a feeling that it will be crazy around here

  5. Sounds like the perfect Christmas, Nancy! We, too, have large gatherings… they are the best.

  6. Nancy, your Christmas sounds wonderful and so does that coffee! Staying here in San Diego, every day there has been a lot of people gathered and food! Cold, sunny weather! For new years eve, we will be in Baja by then. Have a wonderful week!

  7. I love the idea of Christmas going on over the week-end…here in France the 26th is not a holiday, so it was back to work and business as usual. Today (Sunday) all the shops are closed, so we will get to see more of our friends. Wishing you a very Happy New Year!

    • One of the benefits of working in a school here in the US is that we get a whole week to celebrate and be lazy! I would have had a hard time getting up early on the 26th, that’s for sure. Thanks for stopping by. Happy New Year to you!

  8. We don’t do much for New Year’s. The most we do is get together at my daughter’s house for food and drink and midnight. Quiet times. The boys got a Just Dance game for Wii U so we’ll probably put that on and let them entertain us. They’re so funny!

  9. Sounds like you had a lovely day, Nancy. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ 14 people for dinner sounds like a lot to me! My hubby and I spent Christmas Eve with his family and then had a nice quiet Christmas Day together. More reading and naps today. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ I’m thankful for life’s simple joys. โค๏ธ

  10. Lovely post Nancy!! ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ˜ƒSounds like a wonderful holiday season. We’re introverts here as well, so this sounds perfect. I have to admit, however, to being a bit jealous about the remote controlled Millennium Falcon…that sounds amazing!!! ๐Ÿ˜Šhehe Happy Holiday and a wonderful New Year!

    • It is a cool toy but in the wrong hands it could take out half a dozen Christmas ornaments!! Several of us had to do some duck and weave maneuvers. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  11. Sounds like a lovely Christmas Day! Ours was similar, except husband’s family came over in the evening, and we spent most of the day playing games with Little Jedi. But we didn’t wake until almost 8:30, and everything was relaxed and cozy.

    Husband and I are planning a NYE out with friends at a Great Gatsby themed show, but we usually just have a quiet evening at home. It’ll be a nice change to go out this year.

    • I remember Christmases spent playing with the kids’ toys! I loved sitting with Miss Dee and playing with all her new Barbies or dressing her American Girl doll in the new outfits she got. *sigh* My kids get such boring gifts now! If it hadn’t been for Hubby’s flying ship we wouldn’t have had any toys to play with!๐Ÿ˜Š

  12. Your family sounds great. There we had 1 sister and r brothers in my family. Just myself and my youngest brother are still living. We do have 2 half sisters still living. I was disappointed not to receive any books this year.
    Have happy New Year’s Eve.

    • Most of my wish list was books! My Hubby is good about feeding my “addiction”! My sisters and I are very close and see each other as often as we can. Our only brother has lived half way across the country in Oklahoma for over thirty years so we are only able to see him and his family every few years. I know not all families get along that well so I do feel pretty lucky.

  13. We haven’t locked in on NYE plans, but my hope is also that they’ll involve quiet celebration at home. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Your special dark roast sounds delicious. I had tea (and plenty of caffeine) already this morning, but since itโ€™s raining outside, I might just go ahead and have a nice fresh cup! We did celebrate Christmas yesterday, it was a calm and wonderful day with just our immediate familyโ€”no traveling nor visitors for us this year. Since our boys are grown and just starting their adult lives (which include girlfriends), these last Christmases at home with them while they are still single are especially precious to me. Not that a daughter-in-law or two wouldnโ€™t be a nice addition to the family. We could use some more females around here! Your Christmas sounds wonderful. Those flying toys are a laugh, thatโ€™s for sure! Happy New Year to you and yours!

    • I like your nice quiet Christmas too. You are right about treasuring these holidays with your boys why you can. And yes, it’s nice for the adults to have a toy to play with too!๐Ÿ˜Š Thanks for stopping by!

  15. Sounds like you had a lovely family Christmas. Our days of the big family have gone, dwindled down to 3 unless my brother brings his family to visit from Switzerland. I find it a little sad sitting at a small table, having been used to the large numbers in the past, so this year we went out and ate in a restaurant. Superb food, no washing up and lots of people. It was great fun so we too had a lovely day. Like you I’m an introvert so tend to be happier at home at midnight seeing the New Year in. We will have dinner out but we’ll be home by 9.30. Hope you have a very happy New Year .

What's on your mind?

