Coloring Yourself Happy

Last night I spent an hour playing with the new drawing pens I received for Christmas.  This is the result…

image

I admit I shamelessly (more or less), stole the picture from one of the Christmas cards that came in the mail. I drew the image in pen first and then added watercolor. It felt sort of like paint-by-number or coloring. It was very relaxing.

I’ve always loved to color, both as a kid and with my own kids. Experts are now saying that it is a great way to lessen stress. There was even an article in today’s paper about some neighborhood “Coloring Clubs” where people meet to color themselves happy! I think a lot of adults have always enjoyed coloring and now they are finally ready to admit it.  In fact, it’s  become very trendy.

The stores are filled with fancy adult coloring books. Maybe if you spend $15 for a book it feels more like a grown up hobby instead of a childhood pastime! A coworker gave me one for my birthday and Santa brought one for Miss Dee. Of course, her’s is “Sherlock” themed so she can immerse herself in Benedict Cumberbatch while she de-stresses!

image

I imagine you can use crayons in these books but it seems like they are mostly paired with colored pencils. This too, I think, is to stress the idea  that this is a grownup thing. Don’t get me wrong, I love colored pencils, but I still get more excited about a brand new 64 box of Crayola crayons with the built in sharpener, adult or not.😊

Don’t you just love when something so old fashioned (Crayola has been around since 1902 and crayons themselves date back to Egyptian times), suddenly comes back in vogue? I am especially tickled that it is something that does not have a screen or remote control and is not fueled by batteries or electricity, but by creativity and imagination! So how about if we all grab a box of crayons and some coloring books and get busy? I’m feeling more relaxed already.

 

 

21 responses to “Coloring Yourself Happy

  1. Belated, but hope you’re having a lovely year so far, Nancy! And oh my gosh, I need to get my hands on that Sherlock adult coloring book. I am a total cumbercookie. 😄 This year I bought the Johanna Basford’s coloring book collection for several people for the holidays; I don’t really color (I just want that one for my Sherlock collection) but my friends find it therapeutic and love it!

    • I really enjoy the show and most anything else Mr Cumberbatch is in. The coloring book was from Barnes and Nobel in case you have one near you. I also gave my daughter a really cool book called “The Sherlock Chronicles” all about the behind the scenes stuff. Have you seen that one? Hope you are enjoying your new year too!

  2. Bought my daughters adult coloring books this Christmas. Theirs was castle/princess themed. I did see some really cool cat ones at Target that I may have to go back for at sometime. 🙂 Coloring is fun!

  3. I recently ordered 2 adult coloring books as I too read that this is a new trend towards stress relief and relaxation. One is going to be a gift but now feel inspired to start on mine! Great post, as always I feel as though I know you! Happy New Year!

  4. I admit I’m hip-deep in the colouring book trend. I’m so glad it’s a *thing* now and I can colour openly 😉
    I would love however to be able to draw even a fraction as well as you. Unfortunately, I’ve tried in the past to draw and I just become paralyzed by the blank sheet of paper in front of me. I have an empty sketch book to show for my efforts.

    • Sometimes you just gotta take the plunge!!! I enjoy coloring too because there is not the same pressure to “create” as there is with that blank page! It’s more relaxing. Try just doodling on that page and see what comes up.😊

  5. This is a good way to relax! We prefer crayons too 🙂

  6. I bought myself adult coloring books as a way to be creative, relax and just color! I like to use gel pens. Since I can’t draw a stick figure, I feel a bit artistic!

  7. I’d never given up on coloring, but a few years ago, I got Moo a mandala book to color, and then I ordered myself one, and since then I’ve picked up a few more. I love it 🙂

  8. Gasp! There’s a SHERLOCK COLOURING BOOK?? I’ve already got the Doctor Who one on my wish list but now….
    Your picture is wonderful. I do wish I could draw like that.
    I’m a paid up convert of the adult colouring book trend. I do find it relaxing. I also have 1000 Dot-to-Dot books that are also a good way to while away half an hour.

What's on your mind?

