If We Were Having Coffee…1/3/15

imageThe If we were having coffee… I would welcome you to my home and to the New Year. I would also pour you a cup of something hot because winter has finally arrived here in New Jersey! Hooray! The poor confused plants in my yard didn’t know what season it was. The lilac bush was sprouting leaves and the hydrangea had buds. I can’t believe I’m saying this, I am most definitely a summer girl, but I was excited to see frost on the windows this morning.

After, I was done babbling about the weather, I would ask how your week has gone. Did you ring in the New Year in a quiet way or did you usher it in with a BANG!? We did quiet around here. My mother-in-law the amazing MJ traditionally spends the night with us. We played games (Clue), ate snacks (lots of left over cookies), and drank wine (well, she and I did, at least ๐Ÿ˜Š).

We also re-watched the season finale of ย “Sherlock”ย so we would be ready for the season premiere on January first, which, by the way, was FANTASTIC! It was a bit challenging to follow but, I don’t want to say anything else in case some fans out there have not seen it yet. We recorded it and Miss Dee, Hubby and I are planning to watch it again tonight just to pick up all the fun stuff we missed the first time around. For anyone who has never had the pleasure, I highly recommend it. The game is on!

If we were having coffee…I would share that Hubby and I had a very nice get together with friends last evening. We called it a “Holiday Wrap-Up Party.” Aren’t we clever? ๐Ÿ˜Š We try to have one ย most years just as a chance to reconnect with some old friends and get to know the new ones better. We had a nice group, both friends we’ve known since high school, and people from right here in town ย that we have met more recently. It’s always fun to see the connections that are made when you bring a group of people together from what seems like totally different worlds. There were some very entertaining conversations!

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I needed to cut our chat a little short this morning because Hubby and I are heading out this morning to visit his Uncle who is in a rehab center following a stroke and triple bypass surgery. We hear he is doing well but it will be good to see for ourselves and hopefully hear more about his adventures. Apparently he has been giving the physical therapist some grief because they won’t let him travel around without assistance! I can understand why they would frown on that.

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing the first Coffee Share of 2016 with me! Don’t forget to visit Diana at Part Time Monsterย  soย you can check out the other participating blogs.

I

21 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…1/3/15

  1. I lived in Asbury Park, NJ, oh so many years ago and remember the cold and the heat. So many extremes in a few short months. Yes, the weather is weird everywhere and plants are confused all over the world. Have a happy 2016 and enjoyed the coffee. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I always enjoy these posts and am sipping tea as I read this since it is now cold in Michigan too!

  3. Your Holiday Wrap-Up Party sounds marvelous, what a great idea. I saw the Abominable Bride and liked it very much, but it was the first ever episode I’ve seen, so I can tell I have some major catching up to do. I am, however, all caught up on Downton Abbey and am sorry it will be coming to an end. Best wishes for Uncle’s speedy recovery, he sounds like a real character!

    • Thank you. He was actually very happy because the people in the rehab allowed his dog to come visit. I think that’s so great! It really lifted his spirits.

  4. I do not watch Sherlock, but love Benedict Cumberbatch. He was great in The Imitation Game. He was also great in the last Star Trek movie that came out where he played Kahn. He also had a part in the movie Twelve Years A Slave. Me? I’m a Downton Abbey girl! Waited with great anticipation for the first show of the sixth, and sadly last season, to start this past Sunday. I will miss it!

    • Hubby’ mom is a big Downton fan. I am interested but I figure at this point I would have to go back and binge watch just so I could get the full effect. Maybe in the summer when I have more time!๐Ÿ˜Š
      I agree about BC in the Imitation Game and Star Trek. He is an amazing actor.

      • I have to admit in Star Trek he sounded a bit like Scar from The Lion King. haha Take it from a Downton Fan, binge watching it is never a bad thing. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I actually started watching it when season three began. I had heard so much about it I decided to see what it was all about, and fell in love………….Once season three was over, I purchased the first two seasons on dvd, watched them (over a series of several nights), then rewatched season three to get the full flow of the story. Whenever you try it, I think you will like it. Other good shows are Call the Midwife, Poldark (it’s only had one season, so easy to catch up on that!), Mr. Selfridge, and a new one featuring the Civil War, called Mercy Street, starts later this month. I think maybe the 17th. If you like Revolutionary War settings then watch Turn: Washington Spies. That has had two seasons, but is aired by AMC. And,…………..I’ve probably told you more than you want to know about. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Thanks for the info! My MIL loves Call of the Midwife too. We bought her a book for X as based on it. Have you seen Sons of Liberty? We have it DVRed but haven’t watched yet.

      • I have seen Sons of Liberty. It was good. If I remember correctly, from what I read about it, they took a bit artistic license with it, so-to-speak, but still an interesting, fun watch.

  5. Nice to stop by here and say hello for the New Year, my Southern NJ bloggin friend. I have amazing memories of growing up in your neck of the woods, but don’t get back there, since I lived in CA for 20 years, and am now in MA. But fun to read your blog, for sure! Yes, I love the ‘new’ Sherlock series. Benedict’s Sherlock talks so fast, it’s easy to miss a lot, though. He’s brilliant (the actor and the character). Happy New Year!

  6. I really enjoyed the new Sherlock episode even though I had some minor issues. I want to talk more about it in this comment, but I don’t want to spoil it for your other readers. *sigh* Doing the right thing is so hard.

    Too bad we have to wait like a billion years for the next episode. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • Yeah, that’s the thing about that show! It’s soooo loooong before you get another fix! And I agree about it having a few issues. (We’ll talk more later๐Ÿ˜‰)

  7. Your Holiday Get Together party soundike a fun time for all.
    WORLD PEACE

  8. Sounds like a great start to the new year…surrounding yourself with family, friends, fun, and lots of love. Can’t beat that!

  9. Sounds like a good New Year. ๐Ÿ™‚ We went out this year, but usually we are the stay-in sort of folks, especially for something like New Year’s Eve, when the traffic is bad and the pup is afraid of the fireworks. It was a nice change, though.

    We’re looking forward to seeing the Sherlock special. Glad to have avoided spoilers so far!

What's on your mind?

