If We Were Having Coffee…1/9/16

image

If we were having coffee… I would be extra glad to see you! Not only do I enjoy sharing coffee but today I really need a break and now I have an excellent excuse! Sit down. Sit down. Tell me about your week. What have you been up to? What about your plans for the weekend? I am sure yours are much more exciting than mine!

Around here, the day has been dedicated to un-decorating. The tree, sadly, went out a few days ago. That’s my favorite decoration but unfortunately it was dropping needles like crazy and needed to go. Now all the rest of the house decoration are about to come down.

I find that each year at this time, when the clutter of the Holidays gets packed away, my purging instincts kick in. Unfortunately, I live in a house full of pack rats so uncluttering is always a battle. I offer exhibit “A”…

image

This could be a very useful space under my hutch. What it is is the repository for several years worth of old school paper that my two children can’t bear to part with. If you apply this mind set  to every drawers, cabinet and closet in my house you can imagine my frustration! Well, for today I will just tackle the Christmas decorations. I have the rest of the winter to work on the rest.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you about the comedy show my Hubby and I went to see last night. It was a charity event held at our local theater and seemed like it would be a fun night.

There were four comedians on the bill. The first three were quite funny, the fourth, not so much. He was advertised as the headliner and was familiar to many people in the audience (at least I judged so by the round of applause he received) but we had never heard of the guy and personally I would have enjoyed the show more without him.

I don’t consider myself to be prudish or easily offended. I’ve even been known to laugh at a dirty jokes if they are clever and not offensive.  This guy, though, was just raunchy. I didn’t find his material all that funny, just rude. Hubby felt more or less the same way, although he did laugh a few times. Maybe  being a female made a difference. Anyway, the ticket money was for a good cause so I’m glad we went but,  I would much rather go see Brian Regan again! He is clever and clean. You don’t  find that too often in comedy these days.

If we were having coffee…I would probably “sigh” and tell you that I really should get back to work. Hubby is downstairs dismantling the train platform and  I’m starting to feel a little guilty about sitting here drinking coffee. I don’t suppose you would be interesting in helping out?

Yeah, I didn’t think so. Well, in that case, you should go visit Diana over at Part Time Monster and check out the rest of the Weekend Coffee Share. There’s always lots going on there! 😊

 

22 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…1/9/16

  1. Stopped by to thank you for following. Thank you. 🙂 Looks like you are off to a good start this year. Yes, organization is something we all want and need. As an army brat and wife, I learned to travel light, very light. We were lucky to bring our clothes along. Our play was the outdoors. papers were never kept. I kept very few of my children’s and later, they didn’t really want what I did keep. I tend toward the hanging onto stuff now that I can. A sentimentalist as I age. Going to leave a lot for the kids to get rid of. 🙂 But it will be organized clutter. 🙂 Good luck with the clearing.

  2. And,……………..I didn’t mean to write a book! Sorry about that!

  3. Here’s what I did with those school papers or projects we wanted to save that were taking up drawer space or cabinet space…………I bought the plastic bins that are long but not too high. Maybe are only about three or four inches deep. They hold a lot of papers, projects, etc, but also slide UNDER the bed! Voila’! Papers saved and drawers and cabinets freed up! Just measure how much space is between the bottom of the bed frame and the floor before purchasing any, so you can make sure the one/s you buy will slide under. Good luck! I’m glad to hear you were taking down decorations Saturday, too. Makes me feel better about doing the same thing! I usually have it all down, and put away by at least the 4th, but this year was different and ran later. I often feel sad when it’s time to take them all down. And then the house just looks so empty for a few days without them all. The question is does that say more for how much I decorate, or for how little I decorate with when it’s not Christmas? haha Saturday was a mixed feelings day. Saturday marked two years since my Mother passed away. I just kept asking myself how had it already been two years? Time is very fleeting, isn’t it? It also marked the last full day my daughter, Stephanie, was with me before she finally was able to head back to Florida. I say finally because she came Christmas week, only for the week, but ended up having to stay two further weeks, due to being involved in a car wreck. She was and is fine, but the car was not. We waited to see how long it would take to fix, but given it was the holidays let’s just say no one was moving too fast on that, so she headed back sans car, and will be back in a couple of weeks to get it. Today the house seems empty, without decorations, and very quiet now that it’s just me and my pets, but it’s not a bad quiet. Just quiet.

    • I’m glad your daughter was not hurt but waiting for car repairs is the pits! I hate being without my car and now that we have four vehicles it seem like there is always something wrong with one of them.
      This Christmas was the second without my mom too. It feels weird carrying on all the same traditions without her and my dad. And putting away the decorations, especially the tree ornaments is major depressing. It always feels like they just went up!
      Thanks for your idea about all the papers. We will see how it goes.😊

  4. Undecorating is one of my least favorite things to do. I’d be all over tackling your paper organization issue, though. I’m an organizationl guru (read: a little nuts about organizing my piles). 🙂

    Comedy that’s clean and funny is difficult. That’s why so many go the easy, sleazy route.

    Happy new year!

    • I tend to be a “little nuts” about organizing too that’s why the piles in my house send me over the wall! At least Miss Dee is a neat pack rat. The men, however are all over the place!

  5. I, too, live with pack rats! Whenever I read helpful articles about the benefits of decluttering, I wish the authors would include a section entitled something like “how to persuade the unpersuadable.” Sigh.

    • That would be helpful. I’m tempted to just sneak it out when no one is looking…What do you think?

      • I might or might not have started a like process a couple of weeks back. *cough*

        (But, oh! It’s so slow! Better, I suppose, than no movement whatsoever …)

      • Ahh! Stealth and patience! I like it! Well done.

      • I used to do this with my kids when they were growing up. I’d like to say I did it once a year, but it probably less frequent than that. 🙂 However, while they were at school, or away at a friend’s house, I would go through the playroom and get rid of toys that had not been played with for a year or more, and get rid of the collection of McDonald’s toys that had gathered at the bottom of our three plastic toy bins, and throw them out. Or donate what I could. It never failed. Within two weeks of throwing something out that NO ONE had thought of for a year or more, one of the girls would come to me asking where it was! Is it too horrible of me that I would reply with, “I have no clue. It’s not my job to keep up with your toys”. (oops!) Well, in my defense, I knew if I told them I threw it out I would get tears. Far easier to play dumb. 😉

      • Lol! You’re not too horrible. I let my son think he lost a shirt that I know I donated to charity. He had lots of other shirts..🙂

  6. I hear you on the clutter. I’m not quite at the “does this bring me joy?” level of de-cluttering that seems to be sweeping the country but I’m ready to face a “do I really need this in my life?” approach. But then The Husband gets antsy about what I want to chuck out and I get derailed before I even start.

    Good luck! 🙂

    • Yes, that is my obstacle as well. My husband does have the uncanny ability to know when something will become valuable (I.e. a collectable) in the future so I do try to listen.

  7. I certainly feel your pain with the clutter. Add to that a toilet paper eating/shredding dog! LOL

  8. My goodness, you do have your work cut out for you with the pack rats there! A good winter project to be sure…then you can perk into spring a whole lot lighter!

  9. Very nice having coffee with you Nancy! Still sitting here in Mexico enjoying sun and surf. When we come back to reality next week, I have to take down all the Christmas decorations that we left up when we headed to San Diego. I will be catching back up with coffee share posts in another week! Take care 🙂

What's on your mind?

