If We Were Having Coffee…1/17/16

image

If we were having coffee….you would notice that the sky’s are gray and overcast in the Garden State and the temperature is hovering around 37. Sounds like a good day for a hot cup of something! My Hubby, the early riser, had some donuts waiting when I woke this morning and I’m more than happy to share, so have a seat and tell me what’s been happening with you?

I would probably tell you that my own week has been a bit of a whirlwind. My children have been very high maintenance, not that I’m complaining too much. Now that they are mostly grown, and off doing their own thing for much of the time, I kind of enjoy when they need me….I just wish they wouldn’t both need me at once! 😊

If we were having coffee...I would tell you that Mr D came home from work Tuesday with a congested head and a fever. . He spent all of Wednesday and Thursday on the sofa without any improvement. I knew he was really feeling bad because he hardly looked at his phone all day!! On Friday we headed to the doctors. The verdict was an “acute upper respiratory infection.” Now that he is two days into some pretty potent antibiotics he is feeling, and acting much more like himself. I guess it was lucky that this didn’t hit him next week when classes resume or he would have missed several classes, not a good way to start the semester.

If we were having coffee… I would tell you that Miss Dee’s week was much better than her brother’s. She has been looking for a part-time job for quite a while now, both for gas money and to help pay for her class trip to Disney in May. Since she is not a comfortable driver (yet?) she needed something close to home and of course the hours had to work around her school commitments. So far, there didn’t seem to be much available around here for 17 year olds.

However, on Tuesday a friend, told her about a local bridal salon that was looking for help. She wasn’t sure how to get there herself so after school on Wednesday she asked me to driver her over. She filled out an application and they interviewed her on the spot. I guess she impressed the heck out of them because on Friday they called to tell her she got the job! Now, considering that this is a girl who watches “Say Yes to the Dress” marathons, and whose goal in life is to someday own her own Bridal store, could there be a more perfect first job?!?! Plus, it is literally a five minute drive from home. Sometimes you just can’t deny that fate has a hand in stuff.

She started training yesterday and from what she said, the salon sounds like a tiny version of Klienfelds on “Say Yes”. All customers are by appointment only and her job will be to work with one lady at a time, helping them select and try on gowns. Since this is the beginning of prom season around here, I think she will be quite busy.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that beyond the kid related madness, my own week has been pretty routine. The work week ended with a half-day on Friday which was very welcome and then yesterday after doing my volunteer work in the afternoon, Hubby and I went to a show in the evening. The local theater (where we saw the comedy show last week) is doing a production of “Chitty, Chitty, Bang, Bang.” In case you’re not familiar,  this is a musical tale that was a classic Disney movie back in the ’60s or ’70s starring Dick Van Dike. It tells the fantasticical story of a man who builds a flying car.  Hubby and I grew up watching it and it has always been a favorite.

The production was very good and even the children pulled off the English accents quite well.  The car looked a lot like the one in the film and it must have been built on hydraulic lifts because it actually raised up during the flying scenes! We took my mother-in-law the amazing MJ and she seemed to really enjoy it as well.

If we were having coffee...I would leave you with a YouTube clip of the movie just to start your day with a catchy song and a spring in your step! 😉 Hope you have a nice Sunday and thanks so much for stopping by. Don’t forget to visit Diana at Part Time Monster so you can check out the rest of the Weekend Coffee Share post!

 

19 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…1/17/16

  1. Aw, my kids loved Chitty Chitty — I hope the kids’ production wasn’t 3 hours long. Gosh that’s a long movie! lol
    I’m glad your daughter had such a great ending to her job search — we all strive for more of those golden moments when we get just what we need 🙂

    • Very true about the job. And, no, the show was about two hours so manageable. Funny, though, at the beginning, the theater manager asked the audience to please not sing along with the songs! I guess they didn’t want the audience to drown out the cast!😊

  2. What a perfect first job, it’s almost meant to be. I hope she enjoys it. I’m just getting over the same infection as your son, it’s taken ages to get rid of the cough even after the antibiotics. I hope he feels better soon. Lovely to catch up over coffee 🙂

    • Thanks! And you are right. That cough is the only thing that is still bothering him. It makes sleeping difficult as I’m sure you have discovered. Hope you are back in full health soon. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I remember that movie! 🙂 And I love going to the theater, especially for the sets and lights and such. I’ve always enjoyed looking at the details of a production.

    Glad to hear about the job—sounds perfect!–and hope your son is feeling better!

  4. I hope your husband continues to recover from is infection. As I read the post I am surprised as to how different my child hood was. My favorite movies was Daisey’s FantasticI believe it was first color movie. I canfeel the awe as I watch it. Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs ” Off To Work We go!”
    Of Saturday at the Republican Theater to watch the Cowboy movie of the week. Roy Rogers, Zarow are a couple of names.

    • It is amazing how life changes from one generation to the other, isn’t it? My husband and I often regal our kids with “when we were young” stories! They usually just roll their eyes at us.😊

      • Our lifes have watched saw many changes from the ice man to freezers is one. Almost all the science we were taught in grade school has changed. Cancer was once a death sentence to name a few things.

      • All true. I also remember having a milk box out front where the milkman would leave butter and milk. I wish we had one now because I spend a lot of time running to the store to buy milk!!!😊

  5. The job sounds like it’s right up her alley. Good for her. Hope you have a peaceful week! It’s gonna get cold around these parts… finally! ~Tara

  6. congratulations to Miss Dee! That first job is so exciting and to land a job that plays close to your heart is such a bonus! 🙂

  7. A husband that lets you wake up to donuts? What could be better than that….except, of course a bit of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!

What's on your mind?

