If We Were Having Coffee….1/23/16

image

If we were having coffee today…this would be the “view from the porch”…

image

image
image

Yup, pretty much the same as the rest of the Northeastern United States! We’re actually better off here than in the shore towns, because they’re dealing with a blizzard and major flooding. I’ve also been sending out prayers for those who don’t have the luxury of staying home – the medical personnel, the plow operators and people like my neighbor, Walt, who owns a heating and air conditioning business. I saw him digging out his car early this morning, probably off to rescue someone who lost their heat. I think this might finally be the year his wife talks him into retiring!

So today I am feeling very fortunate to be tucked away warm and safe.

Come in. Let’s curl up with a steamy cup of coffee, tea or hot chocolate, what ever you like! I have a feeling you’ll be staying a while. Naturally, the Hubby has prepared us for the storm by baking brownies and chocolate chip cookies. That’s his idea of a survival kit…God bless his little heart!😊

If we were having coffee…I would ask about your week. I hope you, too, have been safe from the elements wherever you are. Has it been a fun week? A productive week? A difficult one?

Our week has been pretty routine. Miss Dee started her new job and seems to be enjoying it. Mr D started classes again and spent the week complaining. He ended up with mostly evening classes this semester, which wouldn’t be a bad thing since he functions much better in the PM hours, except that he also has one morning class. That means he still has to get up early every day and then has the whole middle of the day with nothing to do unless he is scheduled to work. This, boys and girls, is what happens when you don’t take the time to meet with your college advisor and end up having to schedule classes on your own, last minute. Oh well. Live and learn!

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that my brother found out this week that he is going to be a great-grandfather in October. I don’t know how  how he feels about it yet, but it sure, makes ME feel old! He is eight years older than me and he and his daughter each became parents quite young but the idea that my nieces son (who is the same age as my son) is going to be a father soon kind of makes my head spin. Obviously, even though they are only two months apart in age, he and Mr D are in very different places in their lives. When told about his (second?) cousin’s impending fatherhood I saw a shiver of horror actually move down his spine! I’m okay with that. Grandchildren can be a dream for the future.

If we were having coffee…you would notice that Hubby is piling on the layers and heading out to “move some snow around.” He isn’t much good at the whole hybernation thing. Not me. I’ve stocked up on books and art supplies. As long as the power stays on and there is coffee left to brew I’ll be just fine.

Feel free to curl up hang out, but if you do feel the need to venture into the world, I wish you safe travel. Thanks for stopping by

This post is part of the Weekend Coffee Share brought to you courtesy of Diana at Part Time Monster. Stop by and check out all the coffee share posts!

15 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee….1/23/16

  1. I’m glad the store wasn’t as bad where you are! I am also thinking about how different life can be for people of the same family. I didn’t become a grandmother until almost 6 years ago, at age 54. One of my sisters became a grandmother at age 37 (she’s two years younger than I am) and then a great grandmother at age 53 or 54. Very strange to me. Her great grandchild is two years younger than my oldest grandchild! Pretty strange to think of.

    • You are right. Many of my HS classmates have been grandparents for many years. I didn’t have my first child till I was 32 so I’m at a different place than a lot of them.

  2. Ooh, I’ll have a donut with my coffee (I brought my own – I don’t trust American coffee). Or maybe a brownie. Oh, those cookies look good. Can I have all three?

    Those lovely photos of all that snow just make me want to pull on my snow gear (if I had any), run through the snow and climb on that tyre swing.

    Two weeks ago we had 43 degrees Celsius on Wednesday, then on Thursday it snowed (only in the mountains, the only place it ever snows even in winter pretty much). Last week it rained. This week is mild (mid-20s) but I have no doubt the heatwave will hit next week in time for the kids going back to school because it always does.

    • I’m not much of a cold weather person anymore but when I was little my mom would have to drag me inside! I would spend hours making snow men and snow angels and building forts. Then when I came in I would warm my frozen toes over the heating vent while I sip some nice warm tea. Ahh, childhood! BTW…that swing is not all that safe anymore, so I would be cautious if I were you!😉

  3. Oh those doughnuts look good. Glad the power is still working. Until we moved here we had a backup generator and water in our motor home. Wait until the baby comes I am sure everyone will be delighted.

  4. Curling up in the warm with is a good book is what I’m about to go do. 🙂
    I’d also say that brownies and cookies make a fantastic survival kit for snowy days.

  5. Congratulations to your brother! That’s wonderful news. Enjoy your book, coffee, and yummy cookies. Stay warm! ☕️🍪

  6. It feels strange that the storm hit so far south of us this time. If we had been hit, yeah, I’d most likely be out moving it around too. Have a good week!

What's on your mind?

