The Weekly Smile #4….Snow Day

imageMy smile this week comes courtesy of the snow, which is rather surprising because I didn’t find it a bit funny when it was coming down!

Saturday’s blizzard covered our area in about a foot of the white stuff. That, of course, meant that my husband and I spent most of Sunday morning digging out our cars. Anyone who has done this knows that it is not a fun way to spend your time. I was exhausted and cranky.

imageAs we were finishing up, though, my inner child took over and I couldn’t resist pitching a snowball straight at my Hubby’s back. Unfortunately, my inner child’s aim is as bad as my outer adult’s so I missed by at least two feet. Naturally, he felt he needed to retaliate. His aim is spot on. Things escalated quickly from there and snow started flying everywhere. Β Soon we were both covered and I had fallen backwards into a five foot drift! Hubby tried to pull me out, but I slipped backward again taking him down with me. We were both laughing so hard, I had tears running down my frozen cheeks!

imageThe neighbor’s probably thought we were crazy but I didn’t care. I didn’t even mind the frozen toes or the wet bottom because it felt really good to remember what it was like back when snow days were actually fun, back before we had to worry about stuff like digging out the cars and shoveling the walks.

Next time, maybe we should try building a snowman.πŸ˜Šβ˜ƒ

Don’t forget to visit Trent’s WorldΒ so you can check out the rest of the Weekly Smiles!

26 responses to “The Weekly Smile #4….Snow Day

  1. wow so much snow and so much fun…You are so lucky!! ❀ i hope you had lots of fun with the ones you went with.

  2. A heart-warming image and worth a week of smiles, at least! ❀

  3. This definitely made me smile. I love snow stories because I don’t get to tell any of my own. And a laborious job will always be made easier by a bit of silliness. It’s a pity the neighbours didn’t come out to join you. (I bet they wanted to.)

  4. A good way to turn a cranky situation into a laughing one and blow off some steam! I feel your pain- we had 18 inches here!

  5. The mental picture of you and hubby playing in the snow makes me smile! The kid in us does get to come out to play occasionally. Maybe that’s our problem…not enough play and kid time because we are too busy being grown ups! Thanks for the wonderful post that definitely made me smile!

  6. Snow brings out the playful kid in all of us, doesn’t it? Almost makes up for all the shoveling!

  7. I think that’s wonderful! I always play in the snow! Always! Sometimes with my dog, or my kids, but sometimes by myself. I love the snow πŸ™‚

    • I used to play when my kids were younger but recently I only get as far as snow removal before I’m ready to hide inside. Luckily, this was a spontaneous snowball fight, otherwise it might not have happened!

  8. Sounds like fun!

  9. What a fun smile! I would have been laughing and smiling, too.

  10. Yes, next time build the biggest, baddest, snowman ever, and then take a picture to share with us all! πŸ™‚ Sounds like a fun day!

  11. How cute are the two of you out there having a snowball fight? Love it! And I bet your neighbours were all jealous!

    • Maybe! It would have been fun to get the whole neighborhood in on it. Of course all our children would have been incredibly embarrassed! That sounds like fun too.

  12. As long as I don’t have time constraints or anything I don’t mind shoveling and such – it’s an excuse to get out and play in the snow! It sounds like you had a lot of fun. I think a lot of “adults” forget the simple pleasure of going outside and playing like a child. We all need to on occasion. And in years to come your memories of “The Great Blizzard of ’16” will be one of fun and play in the snow with your husband. Can’t ask for better than that, can you? Thanks for the great smile πŸ™‚

  13. This is so sweet Nancy! Actually made my eyes well up and gave me goosebumps! CHERISH THOSE SWEET MOMENTS! ❀

What's on your mind?

