If We Were Having Coffee…1/6/15

image

If we were having coffee…I would welcome you in from the cold and pour you something hot to drink. We have French Vanilla tea and various flavors of hot chocolate. My tastes are pretty basic  so I would be having a some nice strong coffee which I am always happy to share.

The weather here in NJ is looking up. A surprise snow system passed through early Friday. We awoke to a few inches of heavy wet snow covering the grass and cars. Luckily, because the temperature had been warmer earlier in the week, the streets stayed clear. By yesterday it was all melted, and today, although the air is crisp and cold, the sky is a beautiful blue.

If we were having coffee…I would ask about your week? If it’s cold in your area, have you been staying indoors, hybernating, or do you enjoy winter activities like skiing and cold weather hiking? My Hubby is a skier. He is planning a trip to Vermont with his ski club in a few weeks. I hope the conditions are good. He has only gotten to go once so far this winter and there may not be many more chances. The Poconos Mountains in Pennsylvania are a much closer drive but he likes the slopes in Vermont better. I wouldn’t know. Strapping boards to my feet and jumping off a mountain has never seemed like a good idea for someone as clumsy as me. Plus, I hate the cold.

Many years ago, before I was married, I went on a ski trip with a group of friends. It was a really beautiful area and we rented a nice townhouse with a fire place that looked out over a frozen lake. Everyone skied except for me and another girl named Sue so we spent the day ice skating on the lake, building snowmen and taking photos of the landscape. Then we went back to the house, built a fire and ate snacks and watched movies till everyone else got back. It was the best non-skiing, ski trip ever! ☃

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that Jack had his yearly check up this week. He is never very happy about being stuck in a carrier and having to ride in the car. I’m glad it’s a short drive because he told me, quite instantly, how unhappy he was the whole way there!!!!😳 I am happy to report, however, that he was very well behaved once we arrived. Of course all of the ladies at the vet made a big fuss over him, telling him what a handsome fellow he was.

He lost a pound which is a good thing, and the doctor gave him his rabies vaccine and another shot to help with his skin issues. This time of year, the dry heat seems to make him itch and he ends up pulling out big patches of hair. The medicine she gives him usually clears it up. I’m glad because he is looking considerable less handsome with big chunks of hair missing and I’m getting very tired of vacuuming up pieces of him from all over the house!

To Jack and Chrissy, weekends mean a bowl of cream for breakfast!

To Jack and Chrissy, weekends mean a bowl of cream for breakfast!

If we were having coffee…you would notice that I’m a bit of a geek because one of the high points of my week was the new table I got for my classroom. The cool part is that it’s a dry erase table! That means the students can write on it with markers and it wipes right off. It’s great for working out math problems or practicing spelling words. The kids think it’s really cool too! I’m hoping it will make them love practicing their multiplication tables but I won’t get my hopes up!

If we were having coffee….I would mention that the Weekend Coffee Share is brought to you courtesy of Diana at Part Time Monster. Don’t forget to drop by and check out the rest of the posts! 

Have a great week. Thanks for stopping by!!

26 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…1/6/15

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee…2/20/16 | The View from the Porch

  2. My artist daughter would love a table like that…hmmm! Personally, I don’t think that learning the multiplication tables was nearly as fun as my unschoolers’ learning to multiply was (“Hey, four fours is sixteen! I’ve got four Breyer’s horses, and they each have four legs, and that’s sixteen, and I know because I just COUNTED them!”).

    I’m glad Jack’s visit went well. We adopted an elder cat named Shakespeare some years back. He was seriously obese, and his previous owner said of him, “He’s a strictly horizontal cat”. My theory was he didn’t have the strength for the vertical lift he’d need to attain the couch or any other higher levels. We got a puppy several months later, after he’d shed a few pounds with us, and that spurred him on to seeing just how high he could launch himself!

    • How cool to have a cat named Shakespeare! Maybe we should get a puppy to make Jack move a bit more. Thanks for stopping by.

      • We adopted him because of his name. =) It was fun to say, “Shakespeare’s in the back yard” (or the couch, or hungry again, or whatever).

        Puppies can definitely get felines moving! Of course, that puppy is a graying gentleman now, and while he sometimes thinks of chasing our current feline-in-residence, Squeak, she’s younger and spry, and he just takes a lot longer to get off the couch.

      • I here you! My senior cats don’t move as easily as they used to. Neither do I, for that matter! 😊

  3. ohhh, a dry erase table! That does sound so cool!

  4. I’ve had my one allotted cup of coffee…but the hot chocolate sounds divine! What a great idea for a post, it really would be lovely to be able to have coffee with our blogging friends.

  5. I’m definitely with you on the skiing…I like to look at the snow, but I don’t so much like to be out *in* the snow. Good thing it virtually never snows here! 🙂

    Hope that Jack is doing better!

  6. That table does sound pretty cool.
    🙂
    So did that trip you took. I would do the exact same thing, if I were to go on a non skiing ski trip.
    🙂
    I have never gone skiing but I do love to go ice skating on a frozen lake.
    A photo of that or a bright blue sky on a crisp winter day sounds lovely.

  7. Dry erase board being a highlight of your week?
    That’s classic…:)

  8. I feel exactly the same way about skiing! Go out in the cold and try to slide down an incredibly steep mountain while balancing on two narrow boards that are strapped to my feet? No, thanks…..

  9. What a great idea for a table. I’m with you on the skiing. I’d much rather wait at the bottom with a hot chocolate 🙂

  10. Boy, that non-skiing trip sounds wonderful! Dry-erase table……now there’s something new…..sounds like a winner!

  11. The table to wiped of writing would have been nice in grade school. Yes, Kato is quite a character , he has a mind of his own. He is due to see a vet next week for his yearly check up. It is a new vet and she only sees cats. If I had known about her I would have taken him there. He will be 14 April 26. I can’t believe it has been that long since he joined us.

What's on your mind?

