The Weekly Smile #6 – Visitors

This post is part of “The Weekly Smile” hosted by “Trent’s World” Please stop by and pick up some more smiles or drop off one of your own! 😊

Each winter we feed the birds. Some years we hang a seed bell in the pine tree, other years we make peanut butter pine cones rolled in seed. This year we have an actual feeder. It hangs from a shepherd’s hook just off the deck.

imageI’ve told you how much Jack enjoys this bird feeder but it’s quite a source of enjoyment for me as well. I love to watch the variety of feathered friends that come and go, and this year we’ve had an extra treat. A Cardinal couple have come to live in our yard. They seem to be nesting in the evergreen along the back fence and each morning they perch on the feeder and enjoy breakfast.

They are the most breathtaking birds! Even the lady Carninal with her muted tones is quite pretty. They flit around the yard or just sit and look in the window. Each day I watch for them and have taken to having little chats with them. They don’t say much, but I like to think they’re paying attention!

Then, the other day while browsing on Pinterest, I saw this….

image

I had never heard this saying before, but it started me wondering. Perhaps the fondness I feel for my new friends is because they represent the spirit of my mom and dad, who passed away over twenty years apart but are finally together now. I’m thinking maybe they felt the need to visit and catch up a little.

I like that idea.❤️😊

19 responses to “The Weekly Smile #6 – Visitors

  1. Cardinals always make me smile 🙂
    We have quite many of them and they are particularly noticable in the winter against the grey and white. It’s not uncommon to see several of them in the small tree to the side of our patio doors.
    Often my cat Theo will let me know they are there before I see them since he tends to *bark* at them … which is the funniest sounds and of course always makes me laugh 🙂

    • How lucky to have so many and yes, they do brighten the dull winter. Your cat Theo does the same thing my Jack does! That is what the post about him and the birds is, how he “talks” to them!

      • Too funny!! I had never heard a cat bark before I got Theo, so I asked Mr Google about it.
        From what I understand, it seems to be a reflex reaction rather than something they do deliberately. I think it might have something to do with the fact they see prey but can’t get to them. Theo only does it with birds.

      • Yes, that’s when Jack does it too but I don’t think he would know what to do with “prey” if he could get to them!!! 😊

  2. My parents live out in the country in Texas and they have a couple bird feeders, along with putting a bowl of bird food on the ground for the raccoons and a bowl of corn for the deer. It’s always a joy to see all of the wildlife coming to eat.

    • I know. Some mornings with all the birds, squirrels and rabbits running around the yard, I almost feel like Snow White! I would love to have some deer too.

  3. I like that idea, too! We have several cardinals living in our back yard, and now I will look at them in a whole new way!

  4. Beautiful birds! We get bluejays, Robins and noisy mockingbirds. You are lucky…they must be your spirit animal 🙂

  5. Well, I was going to comment and tell you what their visit is supposed to represent, but then I saw you had already found out. 🙂 Last spring, while discussing my daughter’s engagement/wedding with a friend, via cell phone, a cardinal came and sat outside my back window. I always felt it must be my Mom listening in to hear all about it! 🙂 Love your weekly smiles.

  6. We don’t get cardinals where I live but I have always loved them and would love to see one in person. Maybe one day!

  7. I love Cardinals. They’re so vibrant against a gray winter background. What a wonderful and comforting thought about these birds representing loved ones. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  8. We are a big fan of your weekly smiles. It takes a beautiful soul to share joy and you’re one such beautiful and wonderful person. So thank you xx

    • Thank you for stopping by and sharing my smiles! I am so glad that Trent started the idea and puts up the link every week. The world always needs more smiles. 😊

  9. For several years we’ve had cardinals nesting in our back yard. I agree with you, they are special. At the end of the summer there will be several little red bundles of joy flitting around the back yard, but the young do eventually leave putting us back to the original pair. We don’t have a feeder, but I often think we should get one, particularly since i enjoy taking pictures of birds.
    I haven’t heard that saying either, but it is a nice idea. Of all birds, cardinals do seem to fit it the most.
    Thanks for the smile. 🙂

What's on your mind?

