If We Were Having Coffee…2/20/16

imageIf we were having coffee…you would notice that, as expected, “morning” happens a lot later around here when Hubby in not around to act as my alarm clock. He’s probably been skiing the Vermont slopes for hours now, but here in Jersey, my sorry butt just climbed out of bed. The cats sure let me know that they were not happy about having to wait for their breakfast! I don’t feel too lazy though because Mr D is still snoring away upstairs and will be for hours yet. Speaking of my handsome son….

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I finally got to meet the third member of his soon-to-be-roommates. The other two, I’ve know since they were little, but this young man is a new friend. He seemed quite nice, if a little shy. He shook my hand politely and answered all my annoying mom questions (“Do you have brothers and sisters? How is your mom feeling about you moving out? How is school going? etc).

Later, I asked Mr D if his friend is always so quiet and he said “No, but parents make him really nervous.” See, this cracks me up because I think of myself as the most easy going friendly parent. I can’t imagine anyone, especially a college kid, being intimidated by me. My husband, on the other hand…😊 Years of dealing with (sometimes) unruly seventh and eighth graders has made him able to restore order and silence with just a look. This, by the way, comes in very handy when you have a house full of teenage girls over for a sleepover…but thats a whole other story.

If we were having coffee…you might wonder what happened to the post I was going to publish about my Bruce adventure. Well, after a few aborted drafts, I decided that there wasn’t much to say other than the concert was awesome, and that we had to trudge through a snowstorm to get to it. That Β didn’t seem like enough to fill a post. Also, I’m not the kind of person who takes photos at things like that, preferring to live “in the moment” instead of recording it for the future, so I didn’t even have any images to share. Luckily there are a lot of really great videos and stories already out there about Mr Springsteen so I don’t really need to add mine!

If we were having coffee…I would share that Miss Dee had some fun this week. On Thursday evening, she participated in her high school’s Prom Fashion Show. It is an annual event that raises money for the yearly sports banquet held in the spring. The senior athletes are dressed up in prom fashions and paired up. Then they put on a show, with some comedy commentary from a pair of student hosts. Each couple goes on stage and “models” their outfits which are on loan from local stores. This generates business for the sponsors as well. The kids all have a lot of fun with it and I was pleased to see Miss Dee channel her inner clown and ham it up a little. She is not as comfortable on stage as her brother is, but she did really well. She is soΒ much braver than I was as a teenager. I am always impressed with how she over comes her anxiety and puts herself out there in order to take part in stuff instead of just watching from the sidelines like I did at her age.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that work is going well but that sometimes I find technology in the classroom to be a real pain in the a#*! Example: Each afternoon I review some math concepts with our third grade students using the classroom Smart Board. For those of you unfamiliar, a Smart Board is a cross between an interactive touch screen and a chalkboard. It hooks up to the computer and has lots of great activities.

It can also be a pain in the a#*.

On Wednesday afternoon as I was setting up the Smartboard lesson, a storm blew in and the weather became very windy. Because I live in a town with a lot of mature trees, the wind often knocks down branches which in turn, knock down wires. So inevitably, just as I got the technology up and running, the power shut off!

Silence, darkness.

Five minutes later it came back on so I rebooted the computer and started again. The wind picks up and the power goes out again.

Silence, darkness and some bad words muttered under my breath.

The third time it went out I was only half way finished rebooting and the poor computer was so confused that when the power came back on for good it was so screwed up I had to shut it down and restart the whole thing. I wasn’t even going to attempt to use the Smart Board again so the kids and I played “Multiplication Bingo” instead.

No technology required. There’s a lot to be said for good old fashioned, hands on education. 😊

If we were having coffee... I would appologize for rambling on so, and ask you how your week has been? I hope you have had some smiles and some hugs and made some great memories. Since it is almost time for lunch (!) here, I should finish my morning coffee and try to be productive. Thanks for stopping by and don’t forget to visit Diana at Part Time Monster and check out the rest of the Weekend Coffee Shares!

 

22 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…2/20/16

  1. I can relate to the alarm clock going off and sometimes my husband will shut it off and then I go back to sleep until he wakes me up. There’s nothing more annoying than a screeching alarm clock!

  2. Sounds like a busy week! I definitely understand about the Smartboards and technology in the classroom. It can be such an enhancing thing, but it can also just be a right pain in the arse.

    Hope you enjoyed having a lie-in this morning! πŸ™‚

  3. That prom fashion show sounds like a lot of fun! I’m glad your daughter participated. Technology! I love it but I hate it! I love it when it works the way it is supposed to but when it doesn’t, well my feelings aren’t too warm!

  4. I agree about being in the moment and not always capturing things with a phone/photo. Most times, for me, just having the memory in my head is better. ~Tara

  5. Okay, forgive me, but I couldn’t help but laugh at your day with the Smart Board. I could just “see it” so clearly, and “hear” you so clearly! haha I enjoy your coffee moments. Look forward to them every week!

  6. The “teacher voice” is a handy tool at home at times.

    And I hear you on the technology. When you work in Special Ed and things can turn in a split second, finding out that the computer doesn’t want to log into the network can be palm-sweatingly stressful.

  7. Technology is wonderful when it works, but a pain it doesn’t. Of course we had black boards and cleaning was a positive job.

    • Ahh, chalkboards! I remember them. Now all the classroom have white boards. No more chalk dust floating in the air but the smell of the white board markers give me a headache. 😊

  8. Bloody Smart Boards. My school has a mix of those and the new ones from Philipps, where you write directly on the white board. I much prefer the latter, but since I float I don’t always get my choice of technology.

    • We have a few different kinds too but they never work the way they are suppose to. Poor you! Different classrooms mean you have to learn to work all the different kinds of boards. My head would explode!! Thanks for stopping by!

  9. I think I’m glad I got out of teaching before Smart Boards. Also, before everything was on digital gradebook and there was a constant barrage of email…
    “Why aren’t the quiz grades uploaded yet?!?”
    Oh, no thank you. I preferred when the biggest pain in the @#$ I had was when the bulb in the overhead went out. LOL I sound awful, don’t I?

    Everything else sounds good though. I always enjoy your stories. I wish you had an email subscription. I promise I would never email you demanding new posts πŸ˜‰ Haha!

    • What’s an email subscription? I would love a way to communicate in between posts.
      And as far as technology in the classroom, the teacher I work with and I tend to fight it as much as we can. I’m a big believer in hands on, one on one learning especially for the kids we work with who are struggling. We make a point to use the Smart Board when we can just to mollify the higher ups!

      • You can always email me, I have a Contact Me tab on my page. One of my readers recently informed me that if you go into comments, you can get the blogger’s email there as well.
        I mean, I wish your blog posts were emailed to me when you post them. You can set it up, but some people prefer the web-traffic, so they don’t.

      • I didn’t know there was such a setting. Thanks. I find the more I learn about WordPress the more there is to learn!

  10. Sounds like a good week. πŸ™‚ I’m the same way at most concerts. If I’m enjoying it, I don’t want to be bothered with taking pictures. In fact, I usually forget to take pictures. I often wonder what might happen if we’re without power for a long time since everyone is so dependent on technology these days. It will make for interesting times, I suspect.

What's on your mind?

