If We Were Having Coffee…3/12/16

image

If we were having coffee….I would welcome you in and pour you a cup of nice strong brew. Yesterday, as a nod to the Spring like weather, I  treated myself to an iced coffee from Dunkin Donuts. It was very yummy but,  by the time I finished it I was suffering caffeine overload! For some reason, iced coffee affects me that way, and since I don’t want to spend  the rest of this evening with my hands shaking, I’m serving just plain old French roast today.

I would ask you about your week. Has there been anything new happening in your corner of the world? Seen any good movies? Read any good books? I’ve just started reading “Brooklyn” by Colm Toibin. I never did get to see the movie but now that I’ve started the book, I won’t want to see it till I’m finished. Then I will compare the two and tell you all about it!

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that our week started off with a bang. Hubby and Mr D spent part of Monday night and Tuesday morning at the hospital emergency room. My clever son took a floor to the face while playing basketball and ended up getting nine stiches across the bottom of his chin. He said the doctor referred to it as a “gaping wound” but told him that he was lucky  it was a nice straight cut so it should heal fine. When he was sixteen, he broke his front tooth in half playing basketball. I don’t know if his face can take much more of this sport! I’m glad that baseball season starts next week.

The intramural basketball games Mr D plays in at the college start at 10 pm for some reason so by the time he called to tell us about the injury it was 11:00 and Hubby and I were both asleep.

“What’s the matter?” I muttered, half asleep, knowing that the fact that he was calling instead of sending a text automatically meant a crisis of some kind.

“Well, he’s the thing,” he began, “Andrew is driving me home in my car. I cut my chin playing ball and I think dad is going to need to take me to get stitches.”

I asked him the next day why he wanted his father to take him when I’m usually the parent who handles medical type issues but he said because it was so late he didn’t want me sitting in the waiting room alone (everybody say “Awww”). Actually, I think he figured if he had to sit there for a while the conversation would be better with his dad. They could swap sport injury tales.

I’m fine with that. In fact, in very un-mom like fashion, I fell back to sleep after they left. I intended to wait up, really but my body disagreed. Good thing too, because they didn’t get home till after 3am! Poor Hubby had to get up three hours later to go to work. Mr D slept till after lunch.

If we were having coffee…I would appologize for rambling on and offer to refill your cup. It looks as if the day is leaning toward rain here so perhaps we should just relax indoors for a while. We can visit with the other Weekend Coffee Shares folks  over at Part Time Monster. Sounds like a great plan to me!

 

28 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…3/12/16

  1. I like that you do that “If we were having coffee” thing – it’s a good way to diarise a week. Lovely to hear your news.

  2. Before you decide to have kids they should present you with a list of all the things you haven’t considered…nights in the Emergency Room would be there, driving through flood waters to get them to school (me this morning!) and sudden bills. Not being able to say no to extra activities you can’t afford. Not being able to say “no” full stop.
    My commiserations to your husband. Being a parent really does show you just how far you can stretch yourself on very little sleep.
    I forgot to upload my link so here’s my coffee share for the week..silly me! https://beyondtheflow.wordpress.com/2016/03/13/weekend-coffee-share-march-12-2016/
    xx Rowena

    • Yes, I agree about the instructions. Maybe middle of the night stomach viruses should be added to the list.

      • Definitely! I’ve had a few runs with those. Oh dear! The choice of words doesn’t sound good there. No pun intended. After writing that yesterday, the school called and my daughter had missed the bus. She attends an area based opportunity class so that was a 1.5 hour round trip to pick her up. No other buses. Grr!

      • Ick. Add that to the list too..☹

      • Thanks, Nancy! Hope you’re having a great week. Speaking of stomach aches, my daughter is home today but fortunately just aches and no action! xx Ro

  3. Awwwww…. Very sweet and I’m glad he’s ok but he should consider another sport…:)

  4. The movie comes out on DVD this Tuesday!!! 🙂

  5. Ouch on those stitches. Wow! The things they do to themselves. My daughter took stitches to her forehead when she was about seven or eight. Six months later, to the day, she took stitches in the same exact spot! Supposedly it was an accident the second time then many years later I heard the real story! One of her cousins pushed her down the stairs and she didn’t want to get him in trouble so she said she tripped! Luckily it doesn’t show because of the way she wears her hair…but boy was I upset and worried about it.

    • Oh boy! That cousin sure owes her one! Mr D’s scar won’t show either. Right now that scruffy thing he calls a beard is hiding most of it. I couldn’t believe they didn’t shave it off in the ER but he said they told him it would hide the stitches so they left it!

  6. Happy weekend to you, Nancy 🙂
    I’m glad your son has only sustained cosmetic injuries from basketball. I do think it’s sweet he asked for dad 🙂
    If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that I can’t handle caffeine in large quantities, and I’d offer you some of this delicious decaf French roast from our new grocer. It’s fantastic. I’d whisper to you that it may well be my new favorite coffee.
    I haven’t read Brooklyn and I look forward to your review. I’m currently reading a Sue Miller book called The Lake Shore Limited. It’s doing that thing where it character hops through the chapters, so I’m anxious to see how it all comes together 🙂

    • I like those kind of books too as well as the ones that time hop between chapters. It makes it so much more fun to read and really keeps me interested. Can’t wait to hear what you think. Thanks for the tip about the decaf, although I’m yet to find one that tastes right to me. Maybe yours will be the ticket! Happy weekend!

  7. Taking it on the chin – nine stitches, ouch! It’s funny, when i had injuries like that I was pretty laid back about, as your son sounded, but I get much more stressed out when it’s someone else.

  8. Hope Mr D is doing fine and enjoying the bragging rights of 9 stitches. Any time the phone rings after 10 at night it immediately sets my head spinning as to what’s wrong. Who is sick or hurt.
    I can’t drink Starbucks or I’m a nervous wreck!
    Thanks for the coffee and the chat!

    • Phone calls late at night are an adrenaline rush for sure that’s why I was surprised that I was able to fall back to sleep although it did take an hour. In the days before caller ID I hated when someone would ring the phone in the middle of the night and then hang up before you could get to it!! I sat there imagining all kinds of disasters. 😳

  9. Hospital emergencies rooms are something I don’t do very well. Thankfully my husband has always taken the lead on that one. Even more thankfully, it hasn’t occurred very often, but it’s always traumatic for the parents when it does.

    • Yes. Seeing your loved ones in pain is very difficult. Unfortunately I became a regular in the ER during my moms last years and Hubby has been there once or twice but we have been pretty lucky with the kids (knock wood). Miss Dee had a tendency to dislocate her elbow when she was small and Mr D scratched his eye with a toy once but otherwise we have been able to take our issues to the family doctor. I know families who aren’t nearly so lucky!

  10. I left a comment on About blog . Are we friends on Goodreads? Since my reviews are the same as on my blog I haven’t set up my Goodreads

  11. Will be interested in hearing your comparison between the book and movie, Brooklyn. 🙂 Glad your son is okay.

What's on your mind?

