The Weekly Smile – America’s Pastime

image“The one constant through all the years, Ray, has been baseball. America has rolled by like an army of steamrollers. It has been erased like a blackboard, rebuilt and erased again. But baseball has marked the time. This field, this game: it’s a part of our past, Ray. It reminds of us of all that once was good and could be good again.” Field of Dreams (1989) – Terrence Mann (James Earl Jones)

⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️⚾️☀️

On Sunday afternoon I enjoyed one of my most favorite things. I sat under a perfect blue sky, half way up the metal bleachers and watched my son play baseball. There was a time when this was a constant Spring activity but now that little league and high school sports are behind us, I rarely get to spend time at the ball park. I’m glad that Mr D decided to join an “over 18” league, because if he keeps playing, I get to keep watching.

Every year, during each baseball season, we always make it to a few Philadelphia Phillies games and we used to go see the minor league Camden Riversharks play before they moved away but, my favorite are the amateur games. I’m for the sandlot kids, the players that are still playing for no other reason than the love of the game.

Do you enjoy America’s Pastime? Does it make you smile?

(I just realized that one of my very first posts when I started blogging back in 2008 was about this very same thing…it was titled “Play Ball“)

 

imageMake sure to visit Trent’s World and check out the rest of The Weekly Smiles. Maybe even leave one of your own!😊

11 responses to “The Weekly Smile – America’s Pastime

  1. It has been a long, long time since I’ve been to a baseball game. I used to really enjoy going with my husband. After the divorce I went to fewer and fewer games. I did manage to take my kids to at least one game a year…at Dodger Stadium in Los Angeles. Later, it was my son that took me. I think, however, that the last baseball game I attended was at Anaheim Stadium around 2003. A long, long time.

  2. I do love a good baseball game, whether its watching major league games, or even better, watching my own “kids” play. Mine are all grown up now, but my son and his friends play in a recreational league, and every once in a while, I get to go watch. And sometimes my daughter and her husband also play as subs on my son’s team, which is even more fun!

  3. I love this post and high school baseball! I watched my son play from t-ball all the way to the first year in college. It was amazing to watch the passionate drive and teamwork on his teams. It was about a six week season, when my mother in law and I ran around to all the games…I think the last year I missed one game. I miss those days…enjoy the games!😎

  4. I don’t watch baseball as it’s not big here – being somewhat overshadowed by its antecedent (cricket) – but I love that movie. 🙂

  5. I don’t watch baseball often and have only seen a handful of major league games, but it is always better when there is someone you know on the field. For the most part I enjoy amateur sports better than pro, and the more people I know playing, the better. i will say, though, there have been some great baseball movies…

    • Yes, I have many baseball movies I enjoy. My Hubby can quote lines from “The Natural” and my kids watched “The Sandlot” so many times I can quote lines!! “Field of Dreams” is my favorite though.

What's on your mind?

