If We Were Having Coffee…4/30/16

image

If we were having coffee…we would gazing out the sliding glass doors in the kitchen willing the clouds away and wishing for a little sunshine and warmth. At least I would be. It was painful to put back on long sleeves and sweaters this week when I was rockin’ tee shirts and capris the week before. Come on weather Gods, throw me a bone! Tomorrow is the first of May so I need some May like weather, please!

That reminds me of a really old joke a second grader told me this week….

“If April showers bring May flowers, what do May flowers bring?…..Pilgrims!”

Ba-dum-dum!

Anyway, if we were having coffee, we would of course mention the crappy weather but we could also talk about all the fun stuff we did this week.

You first.

Did you enjoy your week? Have you accomplished much or just enjoyed the peace and quiet? Was it busy, hectic, serene, sad or just plain boring?! We all have weeks like that. One of my friends had such a challenging week she was actually posting quotes from “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible No Good Very Bad Day” on her Facebook page. I suggested she might want to move to Australia. (For those who don’t get the joke, read the book, it’s really quite wonderful ๐Ÿ˜Š)

If we were having coffee…I would be telling you how much I am missing Miss Dee who has been bopping around Disney on her class trip since Tuesday. I’ve spoken with her each evening and she seems to be having fun although I’ve sensed that the nonstop activity and the constant companionship is a bit difficult for her personality to handle. I totally get it. I can get downright crabby If I go too long without some quiet, alone time. My Hubby and son shakes their heads like we’re crazy, but my fellow introverts will understand!

I figured that this trip would be a challenge to her in that respect but I’m so glad she decided to go anyway. I know how important it is to stretch out of my own comfort zone now and then and it’s even more important when you are a 17 year old with a whole life of adventures and challenges coming your way. I’m really proud of her for going ….but I’m also really looking forward to giving her a big hug when she gets home tonight!!

Well, if we were having coffee, I would have to shoo you on your way because I have a full day ahead. Try not to be too jealous of my fun filled Saturday…..cleaning, wash, yard work, and some equally exciting errands to the drug store and the grocery!! Yay me. (If the weather would act a little more “Spring-like” I might be able to work up some enthusiasm. Just sayin’ ๐Ÿ˜Ž)

I’m so glad you stopped by and I hope you have a week filled with fun and excitement mixed with periods of peace and serenity. ย Don’t forget to visit some of the other Coffee Share posts brought to you by our lovely host Diana at Part Time Monster.

17 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…4/30/16

  1. When my kids were little, before my divorce, I sometimes accompanied my husband on business trips and when I did, I would always bring back a book and some other fun item for each of the kids. It was on a business trip to Boston that I found Alexander And the Horrible No Good Very Bad Day. It became a favorite for us both! Some days really are like that!

  2. It’s been cold and crappy here too, although I’m hesitant to complain too much about the chillier temperatures because I know that someday the summer heat will arrive. I love โ€œAlexander and the Horrible No Good Very Bad Day.” It’s been many years since I last read it. I think I’ll buy a copy to read to my grandchildren. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Absolutely! It’s a classic. My kids also loved “Super, Completely and Totally the Messiest” by the same author. Your grandkids will love them and they are really fun to read aloud.

  3. I remember this day for collecting flowers fillinvg little baskets full of them. Than we left on a doorstep of a friend. Than in,the 50ths the communist decide May I st was a day to honor workers and May baskets disappeared.
    Miss D sounds like she is handling the trip well. Give her a hug from me when she is back.

    • She had fun and is totally exhausted now! All the friendly traditions that bring people together seem to be disappearing. We had block parties with our neighbors a lot growing up. No one does that anymore either. Kind of sad…

      • This custom as lost in the Cold War. If you celebrated May Day you were a communist. If your high school didn’t required American History to graduate your community was not patriotic. This was the climate.

  4. I can relate to the crappy weather. It was COLD yesterday here in MN too. If we were having coffee, I would tell you that I have a teaching license but until this year, I’ve been out of the classroom for over 20 years. I just started subbing on Fridays this year and I am really enjoying it. I gave up teaching early on in my career for the more lucrative teaching of computer software! All these years later, I got too far away from teaching and now I want to go back. It’s a very different world now in the classroom than before there was even EMAIL!

    • Oh my! 20 years! Yes, the classroom is going to seem like a alien world! It will be a lot of fun for you and I think it will be good for the students to spend time with an “old fashioned” teacher. I feel like we are getting too high tech, moving too far away from the more personal side of teaching.
      Hope you have a great week. Thanks so much for stopping by!

  5. Your daughter has so well taking on that trip and extending herself beyond her comfort zone and well done you for reaffirming that space for her to spread her wings. My daughter is quite introverted and I am the reverse. It can be very tempting for me to step in a protect her or compensate but she is also very strong willed so stands her own ground and usually steals much of mine too! xx Rowena

    • I am tempted to do the same as you quite often. I think it’s my Hubby’s influence that keeps me grounded. He goes the opposite way though in some things because as I said, he doesn’t really “get” why some things freak her out so much.
      It is great that your daughter is so strong and understand herself so well. That is rare for someone so young. Good for her.
      Parenthood is quite the adventure, isn’t it!?๐Ÿ˜Š

  6. LOVE that coffee mug…HAHAHAHA!!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. I haven’t heard that Mayflower joke in a while – haha! I know how it feels when one of the kids is away on a trip. I think about them all the time. Now I have 2 in college and it’s a little different for the rest of us, But I still wish they were here and love when they’re home!

  8. …if we were having coffee, I would tell you that I’m sitting here in my jammies, reading blogs at my kitchen counter, because just for today and tomorrow, there are no workmen on my patio! This remodel has been a little like living in a fish bowl! Guess I’ll go get some laundry going too! Have a beautiful weekend!

What's on your mind?

