The Weekly Smile – A Silent Parade

image

The elementary school where I work offers a half day preschool for 3 and 4 year olds. The classroom is in the main building along with the rooms for the older children and is taught by Miss Jessica, a pleasant young woman, not long out of college with lots of energy and clever ideas.

Case in point…

As I was coming back from lunch today, Miss Jessica and her parade of tots were heading outside so I stopped and held the door for them. I couldn’t help but smile when I noticed as they walked past that each little boy and girl had their cheeks puffed out like a chipmunk storing acorns!

I recieved a few waves from the preschoolers as they passed but not one word was spoken. I raised my eyebrows in question to their teacher who was at the end of the line. As she passed she leaned in and whispered,

“When we go in the hallway, we all pretend we have a mouthful of marshmallows. It helps them remember not to talk while the students in the classrooms are working.

Hmm? I wonder if that would work on the older students in the lunchroom?

It’s a thought. 😊

image

The Weekly Smile is brought to you courtesy of Trent’s World. Be sure to stop by and gather a few more smiles or maybe share one of your own!

12 responses to “The Weekly Smile – A Silent Parade

  1. Well that made me smile. Isn’t that wonderful? The ripple effect of one teacher’s idea, making happy kids, making you smile and tell the story and now I smile many miles away.

  2. What a brilliant idea! I was saw a kindergarten teacher leading her classroom down the hallway, and the kids were absolutely silent, although they are waving their hands very gently in the air. I found out later that she had asked them to be snowflakes. (And snowflakes are silent.) Teachers come up with wonderful ideas, don’t they?

  3. Hmm, I wonder if it would work with adults? πŸ˜‰ Very cute and very clever.

  4. Well I would be chewing cause marshmallows equals YUMMMM.

  5. That’s adorable! And so brilliant! πŸ™‚

  6. Cute! Playing pretend is powerful stuff! πŸ™‚

  7. Innovation indeed.

What's on your mind?

