The 2016 Summer Bucket List

It’s that time again….

IMG_1476

For the past ten years I have worked at a job that allows me to have the summers off. This is a treat, of course, but it can also seem daunting to someone like me, who thrives on routine. I found that instead of being productive with my time, I was wandering around half-doing a lot of stuff with no direction or plan. Last year I decided to try a little experiment and I called it my “Summer Bucket List” and you know what? It really worked! I wasn’t able to finish everything on the list but it did keep me motivated and focused and when September rolled around, I was able to see exactly what I did with my time off.

Naturally, I was ready to make another handy dandy bucket list this summer!*  Several of the items on my 2016 list are repeats from last summer, either because they were not accomplished last year or, they were so much fun, I wanted to do them again! Anything marked with a (c) is something that makes me a bit nervous or is something I tend to procrastinate about and will therefore be more of a challenge to accomplish. My last day of school this year is June 16th. This is also the date of Miss Dee’s graduation ceremony so that day is pretty much a wash but on June 17th I’ll be off and running! Wish me luck!

BEHOLD THE 2016 SUMMER BUCKET LIST!!

1. Take at least six day trips (parks, beach, etc)
2. Drive over a bridge. (c)
3. Repaint the living room walls
4. Travel some where by train
5. Ride a train into the city (c)
6. Create at least six art projects
7. Visit at least 2 museums
8. Take care of some “self maintenance” by catching up on yearly physicals and dentist visits (c)
9. Go camping
10. Go canoeing or kayaking
11. Have at least six lunch dates with friends or family
12. Go zip-lining (c)
13. Walk on the beach
14. Have a picnic somewhere next to the water
15. Have a romantic weekend away with my Hubby
16. Clean out and reorganize the laundry room
17. Maintain my newly planted herb garden and use the herbs often (c)
18. Attend the theater at least three times (films or plays)
19. Reorganize the upstairs closet
20. Touch up the paint on the kitchen cabinets
21. Finish organizing and labeling our family tree and photos
22. Visit a local winery and enjoy a wine tasting.
23. Listen to some live music, preferably outdoors
24. Go dancing with my Hubby
25. Have a “”Lord of the Rings” / “Hobbit” marathon with Miss D

*BTW It would be super awesome to have some company on this adventure so feel free to make your own list if you’re so inclined.

We can compare notes and cheer each other on! 😊

40 responses to “The 2016 Summer Bucket List

  1. I love this blog – am now inspired to build my own list for remainder of 2016.

  2. Travel Nurse April

    Cool list! Have fun this summer.

  3. Great bucket list Nancy. Lynn from lynz real cooking featured you on her Friday’s Friends. Have a happy day! 🙂

  4. I remember your list last year! I am featuring you today on Friday Friends please stop by!

  5. I remember your list from last year and really like this year’s list … especially #11. This is the kind of thing we lose sight of … or fail to give it the value it deserves.

    Like last year, I’ve continued with my New Things list. Being retired, I had the same problem you have with your summers … lack of focus and no sense of accomplishment.
    This year my list currently has 149 items on it, of which 48 have been *done*. The list has certainly influenced my use of time and I’m constantly adding items to the list whenever I think of something interesting I haven’t tried before.

    The countdown to summer is almost upon you. Hope it’s a great one 🙂

    • Your list sounds like a great idea too. Sometimes having too much time on my hands can feel overwhelming! I imagine retirement can have the same effect. Thanks for visitng!

  6. That sounds like a pretty good bucket list to me! And it’s a nice combination of fun and practical. Good luck with it!

  7. Sounds like a wonderful list! Enjoy your time off!

  8. I think I remember you writing about this last year (has it really been a year??) and thinking it was a great idea. Unfortunately, by the time my long summer holiday rolled around 6 months later, I’d forgotten about it. (In my defense, I had just broken 6 ribs so my mind was probably elsewhere.) Such a great idea. I always have plans for the long holidays but then they just seem to vanish. A physical list would be helpful. I’m going to put a reminder in my calendar for the new year to make a list for our summer hols. 🙂

    • Thanks! I will try and remind you but I suspect that in six month MY mind will be elsewhere! BTW broken bones always take precedent and I am very glad you have healed. Please don’t take that approach again this year, though!!!😉😊

  9. I also know how time can slither away if we are not planning – so good idea for your list – and I like the garden one – the two parts – to not just revamp the herbs – but use them! Yeah….
    Happy summer to ya!

    • So far, so good on that one. I’m going to have to plant some basil though. That is one herb I don’t have and ALWAYS seem to need.

      • Oh best wishes – basil has usually been an easy herb for me to grow -from seed – parsley is my toughest and so is lavender – so I usually buy them as starters – have a god day!

      • Oh, yeah, I get them ALL as starters! I actually have a “brown” thumb so growing anything is a challenge for me!!

      • Ha – a brown thumb? Well it still takes love and some green to keep stuff going – so maybe it is a khaki brown – you know – with green woven in- !
        And one of my favs in the yard is this stevia that keeps coming back – bought a clearance plant and it has come back for five years – it is pretty – I don’t eat it – but like the look – tall (mid size tall) – anyhow Hope u have a good week

      • I’m going to check out that plant. Thanks for the tip.
        (Khaki thumb!! LOL! I’m so using that!)

      • Well I have one more tip – grow mint (if you do not already) – but always keep it potted because it is Invasive – it can be used for drinks – or sometimes I have brought some flowering Sprigs of mint into the house in a vase with a few other flowering herbs – but the best part is to run a fresh piece of mint between the hands and sniff – amazing – and can make s day – I also do this with lemon balm (which reseeded too much) and then lavender when I can manage to keep it around –
        😉
        Anyhow – hope u have a nice rest of your weekend !

      • Thanks! I do actually have mint (in a pot). It was from last year and it just sprung up again without a bit of coaxing. Now that my kind of plant! I do like it in tea but I like the idea of rubbing it between your hands as a pick me up.😊

      • Well I never had fresh mint in tea – but would really like to try and make some tea with fresh mint – just not sure how – hmmm

  10. YAY! Nancy! Sounds like some great summertime goals! Enjoy! 💜😄🐚🌺🌈

  11. This is a pretty neat idea! You may be onto something here. I’ll have to think on it for a while and see what I may come up with.

    • I hope you do! A nice positive list to refer to when you need to motivate yourself in a new direction, maybe? I am a big believer in lists (flexible ones) for helping me appreciate the good stuff happening around me that sometimes get over looked

  12. Good luck this year. I’m sure you’ll do very well..:)

  13. Very nice list! These are all good things, and I hope you enjoy your time off! 🙂

  14. Sounds like a great summer bucket lust

What's on your mind?

