If We Were Having Coffee…6/18/16

image

If we were having coffee today I would tell you that for the last two weeks life has been crazy wild!  In fact, I’ve misplaced last weekend all together. I never managed a coffee post. I know that for sure, but the rest is a bit of a blur.

That being said, we would defintely need to do some catching up. There is a beautiful sunset heading our way so I would probably suggest we take our refreshments to the porch and then ask you to tell me what has been happening in your world. Have there been big events or small victories? Was it a landmark week or a laid back sabbatical? Fill me in!

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that my past few weeks have been filled with endings. There were some happy endings, a happy but hard ending, and sad ending as well.

I would tell you about the happy endings first. Hubby and I finished out our school years. (YAY!) Don’t get me wrong. I love my job and in September I will be more than ready to see the children’s smiling little faces again, but school wise, June is the horror story of  American public education. The children have already sent their brains on vacation and everyone in the building is out of patience. Enough said.

My “sad”ending was the passing of my dear friend Helen’s father. I’ve mentioned Helen before. She was my partner in crime from the 5th grade on and her parents were a big part of my childhood as well. His viewing was Tuesday evening and was overflowing with visitors paying their respect.

Helen’s dad would have celebrated his 94th birthday next month. He served as a photographer during WWII, married and raised three children, spent his 90th birthday celebration at a Phillies baseball game, his favorite place to be, surrounded by his friends and family. He had a great sense of humor and he could repair any car ever made. The night before his death, he was out to dinner with his family and enjoyed a wonderful meal. He retired to bed and passed away peacefully in his sleep. So while his death was obviously a sad event, his service also became a celebration of a full and happy life.  I guess that’s all any of us can ask for.

Finally, if we were having coffee, I would tell you that my “happy but hard” ending came in the form of Miss Dee’s high school graduation. While I am proud as peaches of her and all her amazing accomplishments, I’m also sad knowing that phase of her life is over. She is a bit sad as well, although I’m pretty certain that the endless graduation parties on her schedule will over come her sadness.

The graduation ceremony was very nice and the weather, although rainy all day, cleared just in time for it to be held outside. This is a better venue than the high school auditorium because each graduate can have more guests and also because they have the space to toss their hats in the air at the end of the program, a tradition around here.

Here is Miss Dee sharing a moment with her big brother…

image

Aren’t they cute?

Well, if we were having coffee…that would bring us to yet another ending. Thank you so much for stopping by. Don’t forget to visit Diana at Part Time Monster so you can check out the rest of the “Weekend Coffee Share” posts.

18 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…6/18/16

  1. I am sorry to hear of your friend’s father’s passing, but what a wonderful life it sounds like he had! Your children are beautiful! Miss Dee looks like her Mom, I think. 🙂

  2. Condolences on your friend passing. Enjoy Miss D congratulations. Have great week.

  3. So sorry to hear of your loss! It sounds like you’ve had an emotional few weeks. Congratulations to your daughter for graduating! My son just graduated as well and although I was beaming with pride and filled with happiness for him, I was sad to let him go as that little boy I took care of! I’m sure you can relate! Best of luck to you and enjoy your summer!😎

  4. I’m so sorry about your friend’s father. Losing someone you’ve known almost all your life is so hard. And I can imagine that you have some bittersweet feelings about your daughter’s graduation! But you aren’t losing her at all…your relationship will be just as close, simply different. Trust me on that!

    • That is what my sister says too, Ann. Her daughter is in her twenties and she said their relationship has grown even better! Thanks so much for your kind words.

  5. Sounds like a busy time for you! Have a lovely summer. I loved hearing about your friend’s father so special! What a lovely picture of your two sweet kids! Happy beginnings with some endings xxx

  6. I know all about weekends (even weeks) being nothing but a blur. It seems that mother nature, in her hormonal phase of not remembering what season it is, has now been confusing father time as he has taken up running through his allotted time this year. Congratulations to your daughter and you on her graduation. Last but not least I’m sorry for the loss of your friend’s father. Sad to see another vet pass but he seemed to have led a very full life. Deb

  7. Sorry for your loss, Nancy. It’s never easy to lose someone you care about – even if they die peacefully. 💕💖 And congrats to your daughter for graduating HS! A new chapter is beginning in both of your lives… Change is never easy. Happy to hear your school year has ended so you can start enjoying your summer and obtaining some of your goals on that summer bucket list! 🌈✨

  8. Wonderful post, congratulations to your daughter!

What's on your mind?

