If We Were Having Coffee…6/25/16

image

If we were having coffee…we would be sitting on the back porch enjoying the abundant sunshine and the lovely cool breeze. Ahhh! Summer is upon us. There were a couple of chipmunks hanging out a minute ago and a cardinal on the bird feeder. I’m sure they will be back if we sit here a bit. Hubby’s been doing battle with the neighborhood squirrels lately because they keep stealing the birdseed from the feeder. (That is what squirrels do after all) As you can see, it’s on a pole out in the yard. He keeps moving it further out because apparently, squirrels are really good at jumping. They launch themselves off the porch rail and end up swinging from the bird feeder! I swear we mush have flying squirrels because that’s a good six feet! He may have to find another solution. I’ll keep you posted.

If we were having coffee…I would ask you about your week as I topped off you mug of French roast. Was it fun? Demanding? Unusual? Did you go anywhere special or see any good movies? Miss Dee and I watched a film last night called I Saw the Light.” It was a bio-pic about the life of country western singer Hank Williams. I will admit that we mostly decided to watch it because Tom Hiddleson played Hank and we have a thing for Tom, but it was actually pretty good. I hadn’t realized that he was only 29 when he died. Sadly, he had issues with alcohol and drugs that lead to a heart attack. His career was only about six years long yet he produced so many hits and had such a unique style that he is considered a major influences in country music. My mom loved Hank Williams so I grew up listening to his songs. Interestingly, Tom Hiddleson, who is a British actor, did all the singing himself and he was really spot on! I would defently recommend checking out the movie if you get the chance.

If we were having coffee…we could talk about my “Bucket List” progress. I am only nine days into my summer break and I have already check a few items off. If you checked out my “Weekly Smile” you would know that I spent a lovely day on the beach (even though it was over night, I still count it as a day trip, because, hey, it’s my list😊). I also took the plunge and drove across a bridge, something I’ve never done before. Yay me! Granted it was only a small bridge but it was also a draw bridge and we were stopped at the front of the line of traffic when it opened to let a boat through. That was kind of cool and also a little scary because the bridge shook a little as the opening went up and down!

Also on the list, I would probably remind you, was completing at least six art projects. Most of my artistic endeavors at this time are geared towards the STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art, mathematics) camp I will be helping with in July. Each day has a theme and I’ve been working on the photo back drops for them. One day will be a “CSI” day where the children will explore forensic science and follow clues to solve a mystery, so I created a life size badge that they will get their photo taken in front of. We will then shrink it and laminate it for them to wear. Here is Miss Dee modeling the finished product…

image

I think she would make a pretty good agent, don’t you? Hopefully the campers will think it’s cool. My next project is a roller coaster back drop for “Amusement Park” day. That will be dedicated to the laws of motion.

If we were having coffee…you would probably remind me that the morning is whittling away and that I should get myself moving. Even though it’s summer vacation, stuff still needs to get done so I guess we should say goodbye until next weekend! Thanks so much for stopping by and don’t forget to check out the rest of the Weekend Coffee Share post brought to you courtesy of Diana over at Part Time Monster.

 

31 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…6/25/16

  1. Pingback: Meet & Greet – Summer Traditions Style | A Texan's View of Upstate New York

  2. I like the idea of the “badge” for the CSI day as part if the STEAM camp.

    • We are trying to come up with enough clever ideas to keep them interested in science beyond just the four day camp. There is so much really cool stuff out there.

      • That there is :-)… I wouldn’t mind learning some CSI/forensics stuff πŸ˜‰

  3. The badge is clever and your daughter is a great model! They will love it! 😊

  4. First of all, I don’t thing a bird feeder or pole has been made, yet, that can defeat a squirrel! haha Secondly, Tom Hiddleson…..Love him, too. Not nuts he is dating Taylor Swift, but that’s none of my business, so….. Third, and finally, spent Thursday through Saturday at the hospital offering support and assistance to my daughter and her husband, as her husband went to the ER Thursday in a lot of pain. Was admitted to the hospital due to a quite good-sized kidney stone that had to be surgically blasted. He went home Saturday, and though still a bit tender, is doing okay. My daughter works an hour away so she asked me to go be with him until she could get there. I was only too happy to oblige! And, of course, stayed to offer support as was needed.

    • Ouch! Your poor SIL. That must have been so painful. Hope he is on the road to recovery. Agree about Tom and Taylor. Miss Dee and I were coming up with a list of better choices for him but like you said, none of our business.😊

      • Well, if I weren’t older than Tom, I think I would be the perfect choice for him! πŸ˜‰ My SIL is recuperating nicely at home, being well cared for by my daughter. He is just very glad to be back home! I had a dresser he was going to help me move before this happened. I told him this was a pretty drastic way to get out of moving a simple dresser. πŸ˜‰

      • Some men will go to such lengths to get out of work! πŸ˜‰

  5. That badge backdrop is awesome! I’m sure the kids will love it.

  6. It is great that you are doing. Thing you want to do. The badge I am sure it will go over with the children. The flowers look like morning glory am I correct?

    • I think you are right…either that or pansies. My Hubby gave them to me for Mother’s Day so I am just happy that they are still alive! I love the color.

  7. Travel Nurse April

    Good luck with your bucket list!

  8. I love the badge. And yes, Miss Dee looks like she’d make a very cool agent. The movie sounds interesting. My mother liked Hank Williams too, and I absorbed most of his song lyrics and even though I don’t like country music all that much, I do enjoy his songs. The movie sounds interesting especially since I don’t know much about him. I will have to check out your bucket list. I used to do a “15 Things” list (wherein I come up with 15 activities, some new and challenging, some things I neglect to do, and usually with fun in mind), but didn’t get around to it this year.
    Thank you for the coffee and have a great week! πŸ™‚

  9. I read you can grease the pole, move the pole away from anything it can jump from. I watched a movie yesterday too. I rented Mr. Right. It was so awful that I turned if off after a while.

    • Too bad. I’ve never heard of that film but I guess it’s not worth looking up! I’ll pass your “squirrel stumping” tips on to my husband. We are going through a ton of bird seed!

  10. Your week sounds fabulous and pleasant. If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I’m sorry I’m late and ask for some ice water. I’m tired. We went out and about on errands today and it’s 92 here, so the heat took a lot out of me.
    I had a very productive week.
    Can I lie down on your sofa, for just a spell? Thanks, Nancy πŸ™‚

  11. Thanks for the coffee and the flying squirrels were interesting little creatures. They look so innocent but they can sure do major damage. Your petunias are doing well!

  12. Weather looks fab. It’s pretty crap here at the moment so no chance of having coffee outside. If we were having coffee, it would be in a nice coffee shop that serves custard slices or creamy cheesecake. πŸ˜‰ xxx

What's on your mind?

