If We Were Having Coffee…8/13/16

image

Hi! Welcome! Come on in out of the heat. As you can feel, here in NJ we are smack in the middle of a summer heat wave. Everytime I check my weather app it has that ominous red banner across the top – “ALERT! EXCESSIVE HEAT WARNING!”  So….

If we were having coffee…(inside at the kitchen table with the ceiling fan on high), I would pour you a cup of strong French roast and ask you how your week has been? Have there been any exciting events in your world? Did you face some challenges or did the week just coast along quietly? If you were to ask me the same questions, I would tell you that my week turned out very different than I had expected, much less eventful but much more relaxing.

The plan had been for the four of us (hubby, myself and both kids), to go camping up in Pennsylvania with my Father-in-law, my brother-in-law and his family. Well, after tracking the weather up there which included the same nasty heat warning along with major storms, Miss Dee and I bailed. We are not good campers in the best of weather and since Miss Dee had a chance to go down the shore with a group of friends on Thursday (an outing she much preferred, especially since the weather here was much better), we decided to let the boys fly solo.

From a past camping trip...

From a past camping trip…

This summer camping trip to Worlds End State Park has been a tradition with the men in my husband’s family since he was a kid. Mr D started going when he was  about 5, so they tend to get along fine without we ladies. Miss Dee and I only consented to attend a few years ago after my FIL traded up from a tent to an air conditioned camper that sleeps 6 and has a full bathroom. You can see my idea of “roughing it” is less “rough” than most people’s! Even with these amenities, though, I can only stand about three days before I start craving the comforts of home and a few hours of alone time. As it turned out, this trip was a lot more adventurous than any of us originally intended.

 

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I knew something was awry when the phone rang Thursday afternoon and I saw D-man’s name on the caller ID. There is no cell service at the campground so his being somewhere else was telling in itself. The somewhere else turned out to be an urgent care clinic in one of the nearby towns. The group had taken advantage of a break in the rain to do some hiking and my FIL had miss stepped on some wet leaves and taken a fall. Luckily, he only suffered some minor injuries including a twisted ankle and some cuts on his head but they were about 3 miles into the hike so getting him back to the car with the heat closing in and the blood gushing (anyone who has ever had or seen a head wound knows how much they bleed) was a challenge. The fact that my 74 year old FIL is in better shape than most 30 year olds certainly helped in the matter. Eventually, they made it back to the car and over his protests drove my FIL to the nearest urgent care where the doctors took some X-rays to make sure he didn’t break anything and then patched up his cuts. All in all, it could have been much worse so we are pretty thankful for that.

Just to end the day on an equally “fun” note, a massive storm blew through later forcing them to spend the whole night huddled inside the camper trying to find ways to entertain themselves. When they woke up on Friday, my boys were more than ready to head home. Sometimes you just can’t catch a break!

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that the biggest adventure I had all week was having an entire day on Thursday, all to myself! I know some people won’t get the appeal,  but it’s a very rare thing for me and I was practically giddy with anticipation. I didn’t really do anything exciting, just odds and ends around here and a few quick errands,  but it was still a treat getting to choose what and when to eat meals and how to spend my time without having to consult or consider anyone but me! Ahh! Let’s hear it for the little things.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you how totally floored I am over the fact that there is only about three weeks left in my summer vacation! My bucket list ain’t lookin as good as it did last year especially now that some  items like “camping” and “kayaking” have suffered a permanent hit. This week, I intend to post an update just to revaluate what is left and what I am most likely to accomplish in the next 23 days. This should be interesting….

I can see that it is getting on towards afternoon so I guess we should wrap up our little visit and get on with the day. This afternoon I will be busy with my volunteer gig at the charity thrift store downtown but tomorrow is up for grabs. Maybe I will be able to chip away some stuff on that bucket list! Wish me luck and thanks so much for stopping by!

The “Weekend Coffee Share” is brought to you courtesy of Diana at Part Time Monster. Stop by and check it out!

11 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…8/13/16

  1. Pingback: Staggering Into the Home Stretch…or…Where Oh Where Has My Summer Gone? | The View from the Porch

  2. Oh goodness, what a camping adventure! I am glad to hear that FIL is doing well after that nasty fall. Good thing for a camper though, I am not into sleeping in a tent at this age, LOL!! Enjoy the rest of your holiday, mine is long gone although I decided to have a vacay day today as son is starting school tomorrow! Have a great week 💕

    • Thanks so much for stopping by! I am with you on the whole sleeping on the ground thing. I am WAY too old for that! Enjoy your day off and good luck to your son on his first day. We have 20 days to go till the year kicks off.

  3. So sorry about your father-in-law! That sounds like one of those trips that just go from bad to worse…thank goodness you and the girls bailed early!

    • Yes, it will go down in family history as the “camping trip when we went to urgent care!” We were just happy it wasn’t worse and that my FIL has a good constitution and sense of humor!

  4. Glad FIL wasn’t too badly injured and glad you got out of that trip -LOL – and had a glorious day to yourself.

  5. Darn those slippery leaves. Glad FIL is okay.
    I’ll have a cuppa French Roast, thanks for makin it strong 🙂
    I had a good beginning of week, then too busy Thursday and Friday. Worked longer hours for two days and there was a parent meeting. Friday had me like, “Let’s go to bed at 9.” lol

  6. I am happy your FIL was not seriously hurt. Sounds like you made a wise decision not to go camping.
    I wonder, what happen to Diana this week? I have checked out all my links and can’t find her.

What's on your mind?

