If We Were Having Coffee…8/21/16

Happy Sunday morning!

image

If we were having coffee….you would notice that I am still in my jammies with slightly disheveled hair. I had a bit of a sleep-in this morning. Usually, I tidy up my appearance for guests but since you are “cyber” guest and this isn’t FaceTime I’ll over look it if you will. You’re all free to wear your pajamas too if you’d like. Who am I to judge.

I can offer you some fresh hot coffee (that gets made even before my eyes are fully open) and we have some rather good tea biscuits from the local supermarket. I should warn you though, if you decide to have one, this is what you will likely see…

image

She has an addiction to baked goods, especially tea biscuits and will stand there tapping the table till she gets some. I’ve tried ignoring her but for a little thing she can become quite insistent. Anyway…

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that Miss Dee, Hubby and I finally got to see the new Star Trek movie last night and can I just tell you how amazing it was! I was on the edge of my seat and even though some parts were a little hard to follow at times, the cast is so excellent and the script and special effects are as good as the last film if not better. Of course all of this assumes that you like this kind of movie. We happen to be “Trekies,” D-man and I since we were kids watching the William Shatner/Leonard Nemoy version on TV. Miss Dee is more of a Chris Pine girl. We were also very fond of Anton Yelchin, who plays Checkov. It it was sad to watch his performance knowing that he had recently died so tragically. There was a dedication to him and Leonard Nemoy at the end of the film which I felt was very fitting.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that yesterday afternoon I visited with my old friend Helen for a bit. She took a misstep getting off her brother’s boat last Sunday and ended up breaking her foot so she is now confined to her sofa, foot propped above her heart, awaiting surgery. ICK, right!? She showed me the X-ray and take my word for it, she did a pretty good job of it. Obviously she is uncomfortable but she said, aside from sleeping, the pain is not too bad. What is driving her most crazy is not being able to get around. She is like my Hubby, the kind of person who need to go, go, go and being told to stay, stay, stay is making her nuts! If it were me, I would be perfectly happy with a sketch pad, a pile of books and an iPad although I will admit, having to use crutches would be dangerous for so one as clumsy as I.

I took her some lunch and ate and chatted through the afternoon. It was a lot of fun catching up. I was also able to let her dog in and out about 12 times for her while I was there! Helen said he was driving her crazy. By the time I left at three, her daughter (who is a nurse working the night shift) was awake and ready to take over. Her surgery is scheduled for the 28th and will hopefully go well so that she can be up and around soon.

The last thing I would tell you about, if we were having coffee is that young Mr D went to a wedding yesterday for one of his classmates. This is the first wedding he has gone to as an adult, you know, without mom and dad! It felt really weird! We had to talk him through some stuff that you just kind of take for granted if you’ve been to as many weddings as I have, like the RSVP card that came with the invitation. That totally confused him. “What am I suppose to do with this?!”he asked. Then there was the whole discussion of what or how much to give as a gift. He also asked me if he would need a ticket to get into the reception (a fair question if you’ve never been to one by yourself) so I had to explain to him about the little place cards that are usually set out with your table assignment.  It seemed to go well and the couple was lucky enough to have quite good weather. His critique as he dashed in and out again last night was that the ceremony was too long but the reception was fun, good food, great music. Naturally he couldn’t tell me anything about her gown or the cake but that’s what I have social media for!

If we were having coffe…I would probably realize that I have been talking nonstop since you arrived! So sorry. Please, tell me what you have been up to this week. Have you seen any good movies or visited with any old friends? Do you remember the first wedding you ever attended? Let me refill your cup and you can tell me all about it…

(The Weekend Coffee Share is brought to you by Diana at Part Time Monster. Stop by and visit!)

9 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…8/21/16

  1. I think that first friend’s wedding that we attend without our family in tow is sort of rite of passage. It sounds as if your son handled it well!

  2. I love the look on your kitty’s little fur-face … it seems to say ‘hand over the biscuits and no one gets hurt’ 😀
    It’s so funny how they develop their own little habits to get your attention 🙂

  3. Cats can keep you busy, Kato doesn’t like very much human food. I have been playing a game with him. I hide special trees around the house. It keeps,him busy. Soory youu friend broke her ankle. Best wishes for a successful surgery. Your son sounds like he had fun at the wedding.

  4. I hope your friend recovers quickly, though there is no way to rush that process.
    Interesting about your son and his first wedding. We take so much for granted and forget what out fist time may have been like. Weddings are so different depending on what part of the country you live in. He will get quite the education as he goes to more and more..:)

    • Well he has two more weddings coming up in the next few months so he will be an expert soon enough! As far as Helen’s injury, you are right, it can take some time. Her commute, once she is cleared to go back to work, will be a challenge because she usually takes a train into the city and walks a few blocks from there. She may have to rethink that.

  5. So sorry to hear about your friend. I’m afraid I’d have to be hobbling around with the crutches or a walker. One has to go to the little girl’s room occasionally! 🙂
    Mr. D shouldn’t be too hard on himself for not knowing the proper things to do at weddings. I’m still not sure myself! They change things up so much and away from the traditional wedding. When I got married the reception was cake and punch in the church basement. Now it is a catered event with place-settings, and full meals. We had to open all of our gifts at the reception, too. It was considered rude not to allow the person who bought the gift to see you open it. Now, they take them all home (or wherever) and open them either after the honeymoon or whenever. But, hey! It’s all good, right?
    Thanks for the coffee, the biscuit and a pat from the cat.

    • True, weddings have changed and some traditions change from one wedding to the next! Luckily he had a couple young lady friends there to help him along!😊 So glad you stopped by.

What's on your mind?

