The Weekly Smile…Kittens!

This past Monday as I was standing on a ladder with my head deep in the branches of the nectarine tree I was trimming, I heard Hubby, (who was holding the ladder steady for me) mutter,”Oh my!”

At first I thought he was commenting on my mad pruning skills or perhaps the shape of my legs but when I followed his gaze I notice two little black furry faces peering up at us from the corner of the yard!

The neighbor next to us and the neighbor behind us each have six foot privacy fences. They come together in the back right hand corner of our yard but instead of intersecting, they form a 8 inch alley along the back between the two fences. The end of this alley opens into our yard and, apparently, a local kitty cat (we’ve been trying to find out if she has a home or not) decided this was a perfect place to have her babies.

I guess Momma was off foraging somewhere because a couple of her curious little kittens thought they would come and see what Hubby and I were up to. These two were all black with bright blue eyes and are obviously the rebels in the family.  Their third litter mate, a gray one, stayed way back in the shadows watching them. I could almost hear her admonishing them for their reckless behavior…

“You guys better not go out there.  Momma’s gonna be mad!” Anybody ever see the “Aristocats”? The grey kitty is definitely a Marie.

So now we have kittens in our yard.

My friend Donna, the lady in Virgina with the 17 cats, tells me that they look to be about 5 weeks old and should stop nursing soon. We have been giving them some food mixed with kitty formula a few times a day and have set up a comfy little apartment for them right outside their hidey hole. The two black ones are very social and will hang out and play but the grey on is still too shy.  Momma cat shows up each evening to feed them so I have been  putting some food out for her too but she won’t eat till I go back inside.

The plan is to keep feeding and socializing the kittens till they are old enough to be weaned.  Then we hope to trap the whole family so we can take them to the vet and find them homes.   I have a sneaky feeling we may end up keeping one of them. Not sure how Jack and Chrissy will feel about that but just look at these fur babies. They are just so stinkin’ cute!!!!

image image-PAXP-deijE

See, I dare you not to smile. 😊

imageThe Weekly Smile is brought to you courtesy of Trent’s World.  Stop by and check out the rest of the smiles and maybe share one of your own!

9 responses to “The Weekly Smile…Kittens!

  1. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee…9/4/16 | The View from the Porch

  2. Kittens and puppies! Love them. Its too bad they have to grow up. 😊

  3. Kittens!!! What’s not to love?! ❤

  4. So sweet. Hope these little cuties can all find loving homes❤️

What's on your mind?

