If We Were Having Coffee…9/4/16

image

Welcome! Come in! Let me get you some coffee. It’s fresh and hot and rather strong (sorry, that my coffee MO) and we have some donuts from the local supermarket to go with. Hubby hasn’t had much time to bake so I’m afraid there aren’t any homemade goodies to share. Maybe next time.๐Ÿ˜Š

If we were having coffee…on this brilliant Sunday morning I would suggest we raise our mugs and offer a toast to the last weekend of my summer break. (BOO and YAY!) As you can see, I have mixed feelings on the subject. While I am getting a teeny bit bored and longing for a bit more of a routine, I hate the idea of ย forcing myself to go to bed at a certain time and dragging myself back up at 6:15 every morning. On the plus side, I will be getting a paycheck again. Our summer savings account is evaporating quickly and it is time to start adding instead of subtracting.

Like the man said “All good things must come to an end.” It has been a fun summer and I managed quite a few things on my Bucket Listย thanks to that last minute surge in motivation I found last month. I still didn’t manage to get to a museum, though, (you win that one Cindy!) I do love my job and I am looking forward to catching up with my coworkers and the amazing kids at the school so I guess that’s my silver lining.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I missed last week’s coffee post because my weekend was consumed with kitten duty! If you recall, we discovered two tiny black kittens in our back yard a few weeks ago. There was a third grey kitten and a momma as well but we were only able to get the black male ones to trust us. They were obviously the rebel ย brothers of the family, ready to make friends with the local humans. It turned out to be lucky too, because momma kitty stopped coming around all together and these little guys were left on their own.

Steve, the vocal brother...

Steve, the vocal brother…

We set up a nice little apartment in the garage for them (I was afraid to let them near Jack and Chrissy untill I had them checked at the vet). D-man’s step mom, who has rescued countless stray cats in her time, helped me bathe them in Dawn dish soap, which according to the vet, safely takes care of fleas on kittens that young and loaned me various itmes to make their stay more comfortable.

Bucky, the quiet cuddlier...

Bucky, the quiet cuddlier…

They were SO sweet and clever, purring their way into everyone’s hearts! Miss Dee named them Steve and Bucky (Captain America fans will get it) and introduced them to all of her friends who, of course, fell in love immediately. Because they were still so little (about 5 or 6 weeks), they required feeding several times a day. I was mixing kitten food with canned kitten formula (yes, they have such a thing) and they were scarfing it down. I felt like I had a newborn baby again, they were always in the back of my mind…”Are they safe? Is it time to feed them? Are they warm/cool enough? I found myself feeling a little stressed out!

We enjoyed their company for a little over a week and I know that if the perfect home hadn’t come along, they would have ended up joining our family however, Hubby’s step-mom came to the rescue again. She happened to mention to her nextdoor neighbors, two lovely ladies that she has know for thirty-some years, that we had found two stray kittens. The ladies told her that they had been thinking it was time to add another cat to their family since their elderly kitty had passed away last year and that two little black kittens sounded like a perfect fit for their family. At last report, the boys were getting along famously, having totally charmed the family, including their ten year old German sheppard and, basically running the show. They renamed them Simon and Rudy. Miss Dee didn’t approve but she was glad they had a happy new home and that we have visitation rights anytime we wish.

If we were having coffee..I would tell you that we have done lots other “non-kitten” related stuff this week like purchasing Miss Dee’s text books for school, (her classes start on Wednesday and don’t even get me started about the cost of text books!), spending a day down the shore with my sister and her family, and dancing the night away listening to our friend Vinny’s band, but since I’ve been talking for most of our visit, I think it’s time to give you the floor. How was yourย week? Did you go dancing or spend exuberant ย amounts of money on school supplies? Are you or your children heading back to school this week or has that ship already sailed? Let me refill your cup and you can fill me in.

This post is part of The Weekend Coffee Share brought to you each week by Diana at Part Time Monster. Don’t forget to stop by and visit the rest.

25 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…9/4/16

  1. The kittens are so cute! It’s so nice of you to take them in and take care of them. My children head back to school on Tuesday. Fortunately, I’m not responsible for textbooks just yet. I did however, create a command center to keep us organized this year! Hope it works! I hope you have a great 1st day back to work! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I saw your command center and I wish I had set one up when my kids were younger, although I’m not sure where I would have put it. Fortunately both of my children were very organized when it came to school – probably a product of my OCD tendencies. ๐Ÿ˜Š

      • My kids organizational skills include but are not limited to “I saw it last night it was right here”, “Ma, what did you do with my book bag” (umm what? lol), “Can you sign this?” (as we are walking out of the door lol)…we needed it! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Lol! I’ve heard some of those too from time to time!

  2. Lovely to have found your blog, Nancy. I know I am going to enjoy it! I have a not-very-well-thought-through theory that there is a Central Committee of Cats that checks out prospective cat owners to approve of them. The Central Committee has certainly given you the Seal of Approval! They are very cute kittens.

  3. The kittens are adorable! Hope the back to school transition goes smoothly ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Ohh, those kittens!!! ๐Ÿ’œ I am so tempted to get one..and then I look at my sheer, white curtains billowing in the breeze..๐Ÿ˜…I asked my husband what he thought about getting a puppy..he said “I think it’d be GREAT- we’d save so much money on all the little spontaneous trips we could no longer take..” Yeah, I know- ๐Ÿ‘ฟ

    • Lol, fur babies can be expensive! And dogs especially require lots of attention. They’re still pretty darn cute,though!

      • Our 16 yr old Bichon left us almost two years ago and I have to tell you, If I let myself..I can feel the pain of that day as if it just happened..this is the biggest hurdle for me- I miss having a dog so much, I just don’t know if I can go through that again. ๐Ÿ˜ช..

      • I guess it’s one of those times when u have to weigh the joy of sharing your life with a pet against the pain of losing them. When my sweet Maggie passed, we waited a while before adopting again but D-man and I agreed that the house just didn’t feel right without a cat living in it. Now Jack and Chrissy are seniors so soon we will have to decide again. Never easy. โค๏ธ

      • How long did you wait? My urge to get another dog was very strong only a few months after..then I was getting ready to move and things got too busy. I miss our family cats so much, but I am afraid I will never find another feline with the personality of our two at home with out daughter in Florida. They are more like dogs..super social..super snuggly..super playful and funny..with my luck, I’d get a loner cat..that would be a bummer too. I’m just gun-shy about the whole thing. Was thinking I could get my fix working at a shelter..but I know how that would end up..so does my husband! HAHA!!!

      • It was only about 3 or 4 months before we caved. One of the ladies at our vet found a litter of strays and was looking for homes for them. We took 2 of the three and she kept the other. It was just one of those perfect timing things. These two are very different than our first cat though so I understand what you mean about personalities. I bet if you just walk around the shelter looking, the perfect one will pick you!๐Ÿ˜Š

  5. Have good year at school. It must be hard to get back to a regular routine. Kitties are alway fun and delight to eatch as they learn new things. I am happy you could find new homes for them.

  6. What cute kittens! Sounds like you have had a busy week! ๐Ÿ˜Šโ˜•๏ธ I always like your coffee chats. ๐Ÿ˜„

  7. Gray kitty is just left on his own? Maybe he moved with mama…anyway, the two little black kitty’s are very lucky you found them, took care of them and found them a good home.
    Thanks for the coffee and the chat. I like strong coffee as well, so we’re good there!

    • My friend, who knows more about strays than I do, suspects that momma cat took the grey kitty to a new hiding place when she saw that the others had bonded with us. I keep hoping to spot them again and continued to put food out but so far no luck. ๐Ÿ˜•

      • That’s what I figured happened. They like to hide their babies, even if domesticated. Had a mama cat have her babies under my couch and she would take them back there instead of in the nice little box I had fixed up for her. Guess she wanted to watch tv while she nursed….lol

      • But of course!๐Ÿ˜Š

  8. Happy Back to School Time!

    • Thanks! I wish I could go shopping for school supplies and new outfit like I did when I was a kid. I remember my mom would take me shopping in July then put everything on lay-away until the first week in September. It was fun taking Miss Dee but it’s not the same.๐Ÿ˜Š

  9. Steve and Bucky are so cute!! They look just like my black cat, Pip, when he was a baby. Makes me miss those days. ๐Ÿ™‚

What's on your mind?

