If We Were Having Coffee…9/24/16

imageHello! Welcome! I’m so glad we were able to get together today. I haven’t attended a Coffee Share in weeks. My only excuse is that my life ran away with out me and it took me this long to catch up. The weather here in southern New Jersey is overcast and cool and even though I am loving the fall like temperature, the day itself feels a bit dreary. Β  Never mind. We can pretend the view from my porch is sunny and bright. Around here we try to focus on the positives. It’s a day off work, it’s not raining, and you wonderful friends have stopped by for a chat!

If we were having coffee...I would offer you a cup of nice strong French roast and a donut to go with. We have tea (iced or hot) or lemonade if you prefer. Personally I need the coffee. It’s been a very long week. We have just completed our second full week of school and the students are settling in pretty well. I’m still struggling, but they are fine! This getting up early stuff is for the birds! Β I’m not sure I can make a hundred and sixty-something more days of this.

My work as an instructional aide at our local elementary school precludes that each year, my schedule is different depending on the ages and number of children that we are working with. This year I am spending most of my day in the fourth grade classrooms helping out with science, social studies and math. The two fourth grade teachers are very nice but I am missing my old pal. For the past ten years I have mostly worked with one particular special education teacher and she and I have become very comfortable together. This year, though, her group, which ranges from first to third grade, is very small while the fourth and fifth is much larger so I was bumped upstairs (literally -the upper grades are on the upper floors). It has been a bit of an adjustment for me but I’m sure it will be fine.

A few years back, when I was spending a lot of time with the second graders, I started a weekly post called “Grade School the Second Time Around.” I filled it with interesting facts and Β tidbits that I was re-learning as an adult. It’s amazing how much of this stuff I’ve forgotten over the years. I’m thinking that fourth grade will also have a plethora of cool things to share so watch for some new “GSSTA” posts! Are you feeling smarter already? I am.

If we were having coffee…I would share that we added a baby to our family since we last chatted. My niece’s son’s wife gave birth to a beautiful little girl on Wednesday. They named her Emma Jayne and I’m really sad that she lives across the country in Oklahoma because I seriously want to cuddle her. It’s a little weird to think about my brother being a great-grandfather. I guess this makes my sister’s and I great-great aunts! Of course I was already a pretty great aunt anyway!πŸ˜‰

How are things going in your world? Let me top off your drink and you can tell be about you week. I hope it was filled with happy moments and happy people. If you are interested in some more coffee and conversation run over and visitΒ The Weekend Coffee Share brought to you courtesy of Diana at Part Time Monster.Β 

Thanks for stopping by!

21 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…9/24/16

  1. I think I’ll provide my own coffee, thanks, but I’d love a donut. It’s kind of weird to read about you settling into a new school year when we are about to launch into our final term. It looks likely I’ll get back my class I had in first term which is great except for the whole assessments/reports/finishing off the year workload thing. Good luck with those fourth graders!
    PS Instructional aides (here we call them Education Support workers) are the BEST! Kudos to you. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for the “kudos!” Sometimes the teachers you work with make all the difference and I’ve been very lucky in that respect. Good luck wrapping up your term!

      • As a casual relief teacher, I can say the same about the ES I get on any given day. They can make all the difference to my day but I’ve luckily only encountered one or two that made my day more difficult. Thanks!

  2. If we were having coffee (which I can’t drink anymore because of my bladder…) I’d be having a little Irish Cream in mine! πŸ˜‰ It has been a hard week for me too. I’ve had to go back to work (temporary I am hoping!) in my hubby’s business until we can find and train a replacement for an employee that resigned. Ugh! 😳 It’s getting harder to “adjust” to these changes as I get older so I feel for you getting “bumped” upstairs! Hang-in-there, Nancy!! Sending you hugs! πŸ’œπŸ’

  3. Congratulations on your new grand-niece!

  4. Congratulations on the latest member of your family. My husband’s family has made me a great aunt and these kids are the same age as our kids due to being in a large family.
    Hope you have a great week ahead and get through those early starts.
    xx Rowena

  5. I’ve got Dr Pepper, but I could go for a donut, thanks!
    I’ve been busy, just a bit more than I wanted to be. I like to be busy, but not too busy to breathe, so to speak.
    I’m sorry you miss your pal. :/ I hope your adjustment goes well. πŸ™‚

  6. Lovely that there’s new baby in the family. Congratulations! I spend my life on a runaway train so I definitely understand how it can speed off in a different direction. Nice you’re back though. :o)

  7. I’m looking forward to GSSTA πŸ™‚

  8. Congrats to your niece’s son’s wife.

    I can understand life getting away. I, myself, have missed blogs & challenges for that very reason.

  9. Congratulations on you new addition to your family. Working with fourth graders is a fun time as children are developing personalities. Have pleasant week.

What's on your mind?

