If We Were Having Coffee….10/1/16

image

Welcome to October! I can’t believe it’s here already. Wasn’t it just September first a few days ago? The weather here is leaning towards “dreary” but never mind the outdoors. It’s toasty in the kitchen and we have strong, hot coffee, homemade pumpkin bread and lots of time to chat!

If we were having coffee…I would ask about your week? Are the autumn colors bursting out around you or do you live in an area where springtime is on the horizon? Maybe you live somewhere that doesn’t experience seasonal changes at all? I think I would miss seeing nature reinvent herself every few months.

image

As I sit here looking out the back door, watching the leaves fall from our massive oak tree, the only big tree in our yard, the tree that singles the changing seasons each year for me, I’m feeling sad because in a few weeks that very tree will be gone. Each year more and more dead branches have appeared and after consulting several tree experts, we have concluded that it can’t be saved and will need to come down. The oak dominates our yard and I can’t even imagine how different the view will be.  It holds the tire swing my kids grew up with and blesses the back porch with much needed shade in the summer months. It’s been here since long before our house was built. I guess it might seem silly to be so sentimental about a tree but I feel like it’s grown along with our family. The yard will look so blank without it.

We’re hoping that in the spring we can plant a new tree. Any suggestions on what kind we should put in? Miss Dee is partial to Japanese Maples. Personally, as you might remember, I’m not very good with growing things so I’ll let the rest of the family make the choice.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that, speaking of Miss Dee, We are really excited that she’s been promoted to “bridal consultant” at work. When she started out, the manager of the bridal salon mostly had her working with bridesmaid and prom fashions, which makes sense I guess, because she does understand the younger girls’ styles better than the older consultants. Apparently, though, she has proven herself, because now she is working directly with the brides and has even sold several gowns. Not only does she love helping the brides find their dream dresses, she also gets a commission on each gown she sells. I’m pretty darn proud of her. By the way, she said that they do actually ask each bride if they are saying “yes to the dress!” 😉

If we were having coffee…you might notice young Mr D in the next room, curled up on the sofa wrapped in a blanket. Technically, he doesn’t really live here, having moved into his off campus housing as soon as classes started in September, but when I came home for lunch Thursday, I found him on the sofa sporting a fever and a sore throat. I guess no matter how old you are, when you’re sick, you want mom to take care of you! I’m okay with that. We had him to the doctors yesterday and have been pumping him full of medicine and soup. I expect he will be on his feet again by Monday. In the meantime I like having him around, germs and all.

If we were having coffee…I would probably glance at the clock and reluctantly admit that I should start getting dinner ready. I really hate cooking but I do enjoy eating so I guess there is no way around it. ☹️ You are welcome to stay. You talk while I cook!

If you’re in the mood for more coffee and conversation hop on over to Part Time Monster and the visit the rest of the Coffee Share Posts!

9 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee….10/1/16

  1. We never outgrow the need to have our moms take care of us when we’re sick, or the desire to take care of our own “kids” when they are sick either! And congrats to you daughter on the promotion!

  2. I’m stuck in pumpkin mode right now so my mind locked onto pumpkin bread. I made pumpkin spice molasses cookies today, one of my favourite things about fall. Great post, thanks for sharing.

  3. Bridal consultant..now that’s a job I think I would love- provided I didn’t have to deal with too many divas! 👸

  4. Congratulations to Miss Dee on her promotion and sorry to hear that Mr D has been ill. Get well wishes for him. Hugs to all.

What's on your mind?

