If We Were Having Coffee…11/6/16

image

If we were having coffee…I would probably start off by apologizing to any visitors from outside the USA. Tuesday is Election Day and afterward the nonsense should stop (we hope). On behalf of all Americans, I am very sorry…

Moving on..

If we were having coffee…I would invite you in, offer you a seat, a cup of hot French roast (or tea or lemonade, what ever you prefer) and ask you how your week has been? Mine was better than expected considering that Monday was Halloween. Don’t get me wrong, I love Halloween. I enjoy seeing the children in their costumes, handing out the treats, carving the Jack-o-lanterns, all that stuff. My only objection, speaking as someone who struggles to keep young people focused on learning each day, is that it happened to fall on a Monday this year. This doesn’t bode well for productivity on Tuesday, Wednesday and possibly even Thursday, depending on the amount of candy consumed.

As it turned out, Monday was the only really challenging day. Thankfully our principle has this whole Halloween thing down to a science. We really only have to get through the morning and the lunch hour (wanna guess how loud it was in the cafeteria that day?) because after that the room moms and dads arrive with games and crafts and then the children put on their costumes and proceed outside to parade around the playground. Families are invited to come watch and by the time the parade is over, it is time for dismissal.

If we were having coffee…I would share that I noticed, both at the parade and with the trick-or-treaters later at my home, that the popular costume this year seemed to be the characters from the newest Star Wars movie, Rey especially. I would ask what popular or fun costumes you noticed? Do you celebrate Halloween? Do you have many trick-or-treaters? We went through about 10 bags of candy which is about normal around here. It’s quite a big event around here.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that the rest of my week was pretty quiet. We are approaching the end of the first marking period so teachers are trying to finish up projects and gather grades. One of the fourth grade teachers I work with will be leaving on maternity leave at the end of this month and will not return till next year so she has been stressing a bit, feeling like she is not quite prepared to hand over her class to the substitute. I’ve been trying to help as much as I can and my knowing the children and the classroom routine will make things easier for the incoming teacher but there are still lesson plans to be made and schedules to be arranged. Fourth grade, in our school, team teaches, which means that one teacher does math and science and the other does  reading and language arts. The students switch classrooms through out the day. The teacher that is leaving, only teaches science and math so at least there is less subject matter to prepare and the other teacher will be on hand to help.

Our biggest classroom challenge this week came on Wednesday when we noticed that the thermostat was stuck on 88 degrees. Laura (the teacher) and I were red faced and sweating having already removed all articles of clothing that we could without raising eyebrows, when the maintiance man came to check on it. He told us that it was stuck and that he couldn’t get anyone to fix it till later in the week. Our school was built in the 1920s so you can imagine how well our heating system opperates anyway and even though the weather was quite cool and all the windows were open, we were still suffering. When you factor in that one woman in the class is eight months pregnant and the other in in the throes of menapause, it’s really lucky the the maintenance guy made it out of the room alive!

Anyway…if we were having coffee…I would probably  notice the time and even though we did gain an hour this weekend I find I have dawdled over my coffee far too long,  enjoying our visit and now am running behind as usual. I really should try to do something productive today. 😉 Thank you so much for stopping by. Don’t forget to visit the rest of the Coffee Share Posts brought to you each week by Diana at Part Time Monster. Have a great week!

15 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…11/6/16

  1. We had a surplus of Greek and Roman goddesses. I think it’s because of Rick Riordan books. We didn’t actually have any trick-or-treaters, never do, but I took my kids to parties and must have slowly driven by 1000 pedestrians 🙂
    I can imagine a thermostat stuck on 88 and I can imagine the misery! Yikes! I like to be cold, and my office mates like to be warm, so they have space heaters and I wear summer’s blouses with jackets I can remove. I’ve begun to wonder how much use I’ll get out of my actual winter wardrobe…
    Have a good week, Nancy! 🙂

    • I think I only saw one Roman goddess. Funny how certain things are popular in certain areas. I don’t get to wear my sweaters to work too often either because certain classrooms (especially on the upper floors) get very hot in the afternoons no matter how cold it is outside so I tend to just layer like you. Thanks for stopping by. Enjoy your week too.

  2. My sore throat thanks you for the tea. It was great! Your fourth grade sounds just like where I used to teach in VA. I taught math and science to a group until lunch then I’d switch classes with a teacher and she’d teach my homeroom language arts and social studies and I’d teach her class math and science. Our classes had no more than 14-16 kids. It was a dream (the money sucked though). For Halloween we left a bowl of suckers and a bowl of chocolate on our front porch with a note telling trick or treaters to take one and leave some for the rest. Then we both go trick or treating with our kids. Not once have we returned to empty bowls from a greedy trick or treater. I still have faith in humanity 🙂 Good luck in that election Tuesday! (I should have sent in my absentee ballot)

    • What a great way to do trick-or-treating. I wish we had thought of that when our kids were little. Our fourth grade has 20 students per class so it is a little more challenging but each teacher is teaching the subjects they enjoy the most so I think they are pretty happy. This is the first year we have done 4th grade this way. Fifth grade has been team teaching for many years. I think because it helps to prepare the students for middle school the next year.

      Thanks for stopping by. Hope your sore throat is feeling better.

      • I wish class sizes here would shrink. Some classes have as many 25-30 kids! I think departmentalising is so much easier for teachers. You have less to focus on and you get to teach what you’re most interested in. My throat is feeling better… seems to be worse in the morning.

  3. Oh, my!! 88 degrees, really?!! I struggle when the office temp gets to 76 degrees! 😡 I’ve learned to dress in layers but I don’t know that I could handle that! 😱 We didn’t get as many trick or treaters this year. Of course, I didn’t plan well and was trying to make meatloaf for dinner AND answer the door… next year, we will have takeout pizza! 🍕

    • Yes, dinner on Halloween does become tricky. We usually have something quick then just sit out on the porch till trick-or-treating ends. Otherwise we spend all night up and down answering the door.

  4. 88 degrees?????? 😰OH MY GOSH!!!!!!!!

  5. I also, apologize for our messy election and hope we are almost to the end of it. I hope the aftermath will not beong and messy. Our modern convenience are a blrssing but when they have problems we suffer until they are fixed. Eighty degrees in a crowded class room with little exchange of air can be trying. My library surprised me and notified me that I can checked out am Aunt Dimity book I haven’t read. Have a pleasant week.

  6. It sounds like your school is going through the same things we are! First of all, Halloween on a Monday is a week spoiler. We had our school day as normal as all the kids were hyper and excited, with parties and a parade in the afternoon. The next day was a challenge as well. I think towns should designate celebrating the holiday on the weekend and that way school could celebrate on a Friday.( although all week would be full of anticipation). Also our school is redoing our heating system so we went through days of having no heat to hot days in the classroom! Yikes, here’s hoping you have calmer days leading up to Thanksgiving and that the heat gets straightened out!

    • I agree on all counts. Halloween on a Friday and repaired heat. Although, if your school is like mine, repairs like this sometimes take forever!

What's on your mind?

