If We Were Having Coffee…11/26/16

image

If we were having coffee…I would start off by saying how much I have missed our chats! It has been a crazy couple of weeks around here and my posting and reading times have been limited. I hope that all is well in your part of the world and that my fellow Americans enjoyed their Thanksgiving celebrations on Thursday. We had a wonderful dinner with family and all ate way too much turkey and pie! There is much to be thankful for around here. This morning,  I am thankful that I can finally sit for a few minutes and enjoy a warm beverage and a friendly visit.

If we were having coffee…I would start off by introducing you to my mother-in-law, the amazing MJ. She’s bunking with us temporarily after a losing battle with a boxed Christmas tree in her basement resulted in a broken hip. Long story. As a result,  our list of “things to be thankful for” now includes the doctors who skillfully added three screws to her bone to help it heal, the talented therapist who aided her at rehab, helping her regain her strength, and the fact that we have an extra room where she can continue to heal, exercise and get back to her former energetic self. Mostly, though we are thankful that the injury wasn’t much, much worse and that her overall good health has enabled her to bounce back quicker than the doctors anticipated.

Miss Dee and MJ enjoying Thanksgiving.

Miss Dee and MJ enjoying Thanksgiving.

If we were having coffee…I would share that our sweet Jack has recently developed feline diabetes. He had been sleeping a lot and drinking a lot of water over the past few weeks. It turns out he’d been losing a bit of weight as well. He is a big cat (17lbs) so at first the weight loss wasn’t noticeable, but I was sure there something was up so off to the vet we went. Now the D-man and I are learning all about giving minuscule insulin shots with a teeny-tiny little syringe. Jack has been very cooperative and since we started the shots a few days ago he has been more active and vocal so we’re feeling quite optimistic. We also discovered that an added bonus to having MJ here is that, because she is an insulin dependent diabetic herself, she has been able togive us lots of helpful tips.

Our handsome Jack.

Our handsome Jack.

If we were having coffee…I might remind you that this was the final work week for the fourth grade teacher that I’ve been helping this year. She is anxious to welcome her new baby hopefully in the next week or so.  Her replacement, a nice young woman transferred over from the middle school, came in all last week to get acquainted with the students and familiarize herself with the classroom.  It will be an adjustment for all of us and I’m hoping that certain students don’t try to take advantage of the new teacher. Wish us luck.😊

If we were having coffee… I would share that a few Thursday’s ago we had the 100 year old oak tree removed from our back yard. It was an all day project involving a truck with a cherry picker parked on our lawn, a noisy wood chipper parked in our drive, branches swinging from roaps and a group of hardworking guys wielding chainsaws. Needless to say, it was a very crazy day. Personally, I think the guy in the cherry picker, swinging  the chainsaw around was a little nuts but maybe that’s what it takes to do that job!

My sad, bare backyard. ☹️

My sad, bare backyard. ☹️

I guess that covers the highlights of my last few weeks, so if we were having coffee I would turn the floor over to you. What have you been up to?

The Weekend Coffee Share I’d brought to you each week courtesy of Diana at Part Time Monster. Be sure to stop by  and check out the rest of the posts.

 

20 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…11/26/16

  1. It was a busy coupla weeks for nearly everyone, wasn’t it? I enjoyed the break. Sorry to read of some bad news, but glad there’s enough love and hope to see y’all through.

  2. So sorry to hear about your MIL’s injury but I hope that she recovers quickly. How nice that she can stay with you. Poor Jack! I hope the adjustment with his meds goes smoothly. Sending good thoughts for a seamless transition in the classroom.

  3. So sad when a big old tree has to come down.

  4. Thanks for coffee, nancy. So sorry to hear about your mother in law, wishing she recovers well. Jack seems to be well aware of taking care of his health by the looks of it. Have a great weekend.

  5. Like you I miss your chats. Best wishes for M J quick recovery and sorry to hear about Jack’s problems. Good luck with your room. Have a pleasant week

  6. I’m sorry I missed this post, Nancy! For some reason, it didn’t show up in my reader or in my email. I’ll keep an eye on it, and if it happens again, then maybe I’ll unfollow and then follow again, and see if that fixes it. And I’m so sorry to hear about your mother-in-law’s broken hip!

  7. Sorry about your MIL’s hip injury. Wishing her a speedy recovery. And the handsome Jack recovers soon too. Letting go of the 100 year old oak tree must have been difficult! It’s wonderful that you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    • Thank you on all counts! I kept imaging all the things that our tree had lived through! We will plant another in its place but it won’t be the same.

  8. I’m sorry to hear of your mother-in law’s hip surgery. It’s a blessing that you have the extra room so that you can help her as she’s healing! Good luck in the classroom with your changes! We have a first grade teacher having her baby in December but I have no idea who is substituting yet and our elementary counselor expecting in February.😊

  9. Sorry to hear about MJ’s injury! I’m glad her recovery is ahead of schedule.

What's on your mind?

