The 2017 Summer Bucket List

Woo-hoo! It’s that time again….

For the past eleven years I have worked at a job that allows me to have the summers off. This is a treat, of course, but it can also seem daunting to someone like me, who thrives on routine. I found that instead of being productive with my time, I was wandering around half-doing a lot of stuff with no direction or plan. A few years ago, I decided to try a little experiment. I called it my “Summer Bucket List” and you know what? It really worked! I wasn’t able to finish everything on the list but it did keep me motivated and focused and when September rolled around, I was able to see exactly what I did with my time off.

Naturally, I was ready to make another handy dandy bucket list this summer!* Several of the items on my 2017 list are repeats from other summers, either because they were not accomplished that year or, they were so much fun, I wanted to do them again! Anything marked with a (c) is something that makes me a bit nervous or is something I tend to procrastinate about and will therefore be more of a challenge to accomplish. My last day of school is this Friday, June 16th so that means that on June 17th I’ll be off and running! Wish me luck!

BEHOLD THE 2017 SUMMER BUCKET LIST!!

1. Take at least six day trips (parks, beach, etc)⭐️
2. Clean out and organize the household file cabinet⭐️
3. Repaint the living room walls
4. Travel some where by train
5. Ride a train into the city (c)
6. Create at least six art projects⭐️⭐️
7. Visit at least 2 museums
8. Take care of some “self maintenance” by catching up on yearly physicals.⭐️
9. Clean out and update the kitchen pantry. ⭐️
10. Go canoeing or kayaking
11. Have at least six lunch dates with friends or family⭐️⭐️
12. Go zip-lining (c)
13. Walk on the beach⭐️
14. Have a picnic somewhere next to the water
15. Have a romantic weekend away with my Hubby
16. Join a book club and attend meetings monthly⭐️
17. Maintain my newly planted herb garden and use the herbs often (c)
18. Attend the theater at least three times (films or plays)⭐️⭐️
19. Try to awaken my inner “chef” by researching and attempting some new recipes. (c)⭐️
20. Experience a ride in a hot air balloon (c)
21. Finish organizing and labeling our family tree and photos
22. Visit a local winery and enjoy a wine tasting.
23. Listen to some live music, preferably outdoors
24. Go dancing with my Hubby
25. Catch up on a full season of the “Once Upon a Time” TV show with Miss Dee (we got a little behind!)

*BTW It would be super awesome to have some company on this adventure so feel free to make your own list if you’re so inclined.

We can compare notes and cheer each other on! 😊

14 responses to “The 2017 Summer Bucket List

  1. I will be waiting to see if you actually take that hot air balloon ride. Sounds exciting, but….I truly can’t do heights, so I will wave at you from below. 😉
    Things on my list would include take an air boat ride and Kayak down Weeki Wachee Springs River and hopefully see a manatee or two. 😉

    ***I have missed your posts. So glad to be able to read them again.

    • That sounds like fun too! I love most things involving water. Heights, I have no problem with but I don’t do small enclosed spaces, especially underground (so you’ll probably never see “cave exploration” on my bucket list😊!) Thanks for stopping by. I’ve been terrible at posting lately but I’m hoping to do better!

  2. Pingback: If We Were Having Coffee…7/16/17 | The View from the Porch

  3. I will be cheering you on as you tackle your summer list. It’s good to have “stretch” items on there. It looks like you’ve set yourself up for a busy but fun summer.

  4. This is such a great list, Nancy! Best of luck completing your summer goals! 🙂

  5. The only thing I want to accomplish for sure this summer is an overnight trip to San Diego with Li’l D. I promised him this a few months ago, and beside, I’m a little jealous of his dad getting so much one-on-one time with him. My turn!!!

  6. Love the list..everything except the hot air balloon..no bathroom. 😉

  7. Sounds fun – you’re going to be busy doing lots of great things!

What's on your mind?

