R is for Rabbits

We have a family of rabbits that live under our deck. Although, I guess, they feel they have a family of people that live in the house attached to their deck. Whatever. We share space. This family of rabbits has been around for years. At least I assume it’s the same family, just the next generation.Each spring, we start to see the adults in the back yard enjoying their evening meal.

imageAfter dinner, we sit out on the deck and even though our yard is not very big (that’s my yard in the banner photo above), they don’t seem to be bothered by us. I guess we’ve reached an understanding.  Girl Child always tries to see how close she can get to them before they run away. I don’t think she realizes that the smart little rabbits are teasing her. They let her get just so close before dashing back under the deck.

We will watch them for the next few weeks as the lady rabbit gets fluffier and fluffier until finally I hear the unmistakable sound of my Hubby in the yard using bad words because the rabbits have deposited a new litter of baby bunnies in the middle of the yard. I can’t  understand why they have their babies in the grass when they live under the deck? If anyone out there understands bunny behavior can you help me out? Anyway, every year Hubby has to put cones around the rabbit hole so he knows to mow around that area. If you knew how much my husband loves his lawn you would know what a sacrifice this is!

Eventually, the babies get big enough to leave the nest and begin to enjoy the evening meal with momma and poppa. We sit and watch them and coo over how cute they are (except for Hubby who is still grumbling about the hole in his lawn). I never get tired of watching them and the cats like it too. They watch from inside, of course. I look forward to seeing them because I know when they make their appearance Spring has finally arrived.

What sign of Spring do you look forward to most?

4 responses to “R is for Rabbits

  1. I have a thing for rabbits. It started when my oldest son had a pet rabbit in university and I discovered they are remarkably smart and highly personable … at least this one was 🙂

    Now, whenever I see a rabbit, it just seems to make my day. To have bunnies living under my deck would be nirvana. On the other hand, I have an outdoor cat and I think he wouldn’t make rabbits feel very welcome!

    • There is something about them that seems so simple and true. I love it when they come out when we are on the deck. My (indoor) cats only get the pleasure of watching them from the back door. I’m sure the rabbits find this very amusing!

  2. I’m very jealous, can you send a few of these rabbits to me in Ireland?!

What's on your mind?

