If We Were Having Coffee 8/16/15…

I can’t take credit for this idea! This chatty “coffee” post comes curtesy of Part Time Monster. It’s such a great  way to round out the week that I decided to try it here. Hope you enjoy it!)

imageIf we were having coffee I would tell you that our week has been a busy one! Hubby and I are in the grips of a “Yikes, the summer is wrapping up! We need to get all this crap done!” kind of mood. This is an annual thing around here and I know I can’t really complain since I am lucky enough to have all this time off in the first place! I would tell you that I hoped your week has been a little more calm and relaxing.

I would tell you that the craziness started Monday with Miss Dee having her senior portraits taken. We have a wonderful local photographer who came right to our house with a few hundred pounds of equipment and turned our living room into a photo studio. I admit I had to leave the room when she put on the cap and gown. I can’t get used to my little girl being so grown up!*

*warning: this site will contain large amounts of sentimental mush for the next ten months. Be prepared!

It was hard enough when Mr D did this all this two years ago. He’s my first born and now it’s my baby! (Sniff)  *see?

I would tell you that we had Miss Dee’s annual check-up this week. Student are required to have one each year in order participate in sports, in her case tennis. After filling out most of the paperwork at home including several release forms that prompted her to mutter “I’m not all that sure I want to play tennis anymore.”…we brought the final form for the doctor to complete. I was very happy to hear that the slight curve they had detected in her spine a few years ago seemed to have worked its way out. They said that might happen. The doctor also said she has probably reached her full height at 5’4″. Mr D topped out at 5’10”, the same as his dad but I know he was secretly hoping to follow in his grandfather and uncle’s footsteps. They are both 6’4″!

I would share that Hubby and I enjoyed a night out on Thursday with some dear friends. We have a small local winery  that sponsors music events throughout the summer and have been hoping to make one all summer. It was so relaxing sitting outside on the porch of the winery (you know how I feel about porches), sipping wine, listening to music and laughing with friends. Apparently New Jersey is making a name for itself in the wine business. I don’t know much about wine except that I like it, but we did enjoy a wonderful peach that was a bit  sweet but perfect for a summer evening.

I would tell you that we wrapped up our busy week by helping Miss Dee purchase a car. She may not have her license yet but she now owns a car (Yikes)! A friend’s brother-in-law was helping his daughter sell her 2000 Volkswagen Beetle since she is getting married and wanted something bigger. It is bright yellow and basically screamed Miss Dee’s name! Since she was using her savings to buy it we told her we could look into it. After doing some  research and having our mechanic check it out it did turn out to be a really good car. Yesterday Hubby braved the DMV and took care of the tags and registration and this morning he took it to have four new tires put on. Guess what I will be doing this afternoon? Anybody else want to come  ride around in a yellow Bug with a giddy 17 year old?

Well, I know you all have lots to do and to be honest, so do I. Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope you have time for coffee next Sunday too! 😊

19 responses to “If We Were Having Coffee 8/16/15…

  1. I feel the love and like I was just sitting with you sharing a chat. Lovely!

  2. A beetle has so much character. How charming!

  3. I miss my blue Beetle- and my beloved Citroen 2CV! I’m determined not to wrap summer up until I really have to!

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

  4. I’m jealous! I have always wanted a VW beetle, even before the new design. And of course, yellow being my favorite color, mine would be yellow. Just yesterday I saw a bright yellow bug and wished it were mine. So yes, I’m jealous! Happy driving lessons!

    • I keep telling her that I will trade cars if she wants, but since a drive a massive Ford crossover that corners like a refrigerator I’m not holding out much hope! 😊 Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Wow. What a week indeed! And I’m sure you already know the bad news……how fast that senior year goes! Ugh. Enjoy it all.

  6. I used to have a little grey Beetle—loved that car, too. Can’t believe it’s time for the kiddos to go back to school! Mine goes back tomorrow.

  7. I can see why your son might be a little ticked…nothing like a beetle for a car. I always wished I had one and still do! Yes, you will be going down a sentimental path this year but you still have 10 months to enjoy the ride. So don’t finish it yet when it has just begun again. Take care and have fun with the new car (if she lets you in it… or I guess she does as she doesn’t have her license yet!)

  8. So cool! A beetle! I love how distinctive they are!
    It sounds as though you are an amazing family. 🙂

    • Thank you! I think we just got lucky being in the right place at the right time. My son is a little ticked that her car has a sun roof and his doesn’t!

  9. A yellow Beetle for a 17 year old girl doesn’t get much better. Very cool wheels. Glad you had a good week. So college is just around the corner, huh.😊

What's on your mind?

