Christmas Postathon…Day 2

A holiday song you like to sing along to

I have always thought that Christmas Caroling looked really neat….however I don’t really like the cold and I’m not too crazy about walking either so I have my own version. I drive around in my car and sing along really loudly with the Christmas songs on the radio. Not only is it fun but there is the added bonus of embarrassing my children if they happen to be in the car with me. Hubby and I dance in our seat and sing along to the radio the rest of the year so why should December be any different, right?

Today’s prompt, you will notice, does not ask for your “favorite holiday song”. I would not have been able to pick just one. I have different favorites depending on what I’m doing or what mood I’m in.

If I want to feel really warm and sentimental, I would listen to Johnny Mathis sing The Christmas Song, or Bing Crosby’s White Christmas. If I’m decorating or baking cookies, I would put on Christmas in Sarajevo or the Waitresses singing Christmas Wrapping and when I hear songs like Silent Night or The First Noel I just want to soak in the spirit of the Season…

And if I’m driving around in my car the song I most enjoy sing along (loudly and off key) to is…

All I have to hear is the opening beats and I get stupid giddy and excited. The energy and fun just keep me pumped.

So what’s you favorite?

17 responses to “Christmas Postathon…Day 2

  1. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” always gets me.

  2. I’d say Porky Pig’s rendition of Blue Christmas, but I’m always too busy laughing at that one to actually sing along. So I’d probably have to go with O Holy Night, followed closely by Folk Angel’s version of O Come Emmanuel.

    Oh, and Straight No Chaser’s 12 Days of Christmas. That’s a no-brainer.

    • Good choices! I seriously have to look up Porky Pig’s “Blue Christmas”! Can’t believe I missed that one. How do you feel about the Muppets 12 Days of Christmas? That one is a bit more challenging to sing along to.😉

  3. Love your post, and I love singing carols in my car, too! Great song choice…my fav is Anne Murray’s silver bells!

  4. A couple of years ago I discovered a carol called “Bring a torch, Jeanette, Isabella” and it quickly became my favourite to sing along to. But I also have a collection of ‘alternative’ versions of various carols by a band called Relient K that are an absolute hoot to sing. 😀

  5. My favorite Christmas Carol is Carol of the Bells. Favorite version is the one by Transiberian Orchestra. I crank that up in the car every time it comes on! After that, I love so many of the songs to sing to, but………hmmmmm……..I have a special attachment to “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”. That’s because my first born was born in December. Shortly after bringing her home that is the song I heard on the T.V., and it just stuck in my mind, so I would sing it to her during bath time or bed time. It never was a favorite before then, but now it has a direct link to my first days and weeks with my beautiful daughter. (Yeah, I get pretty mushy about my kids) 🙂

    • What a sweet sentiment. It’s nice to have personal attachments to songs. I think that’s why I like the old Bing Crosby versions of songs because they were the ones my parents had (way back when we had LPs).
      That version of “Carol of the Bells” is really great. We rock out to that in the car too. Hubby and I saw TSO in concert a few years ago and they were amazing!

  6. I have tons of favorites, it sort of depends on my mood, and where I happen to be at the moment. But Bruce Springsteen does rock “Santa Claus is Coming to Town,” doesn’t he???

  7. I just love all the music of Christmas, really. I think I’m the only person in my house who really, really loves all the Christmas albums. Bruce and I sang a duet Sunday night, then Bing and I, and then I sang a one-sided duet on “Baby It’s Cold Outside.” Hehe!
    I think it’s kinda funny that I’m not religious, but I love hymns, all year round. I so enjoy all the choral Christmas music (as you saw from my post today.)
    OH, and I love all the versions of Carol of the Bells. Even the metal. Just never met one I didn’t like, but I never learned the words.

  8. Too many to chose from and, like you it would depend on my mood, Bruce is always a favorite..:)

What's on your mind?

